FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN

Fig. H4.77.0 shows the boundaries of the Eastern Central Pacific (Major Fishing Area 77).

A description of the area is as follows:

All marine waters of the Eastern Central Pacific bounded by a line commencing from a point on the Pacific coast of USA mainland at 40°30'N latitude; thence due west to 130°00'W longitude; thence due south to 40°00'N latitude; thence running due west along this parallel to 175°00'W longitude; thence running due south along this meridian to 25°00'S latitude; thence due east to 120°00'W longitude; thence due north to 5°00'N latitude; thence running due east along this parallel to 79°52'W longitude; thence in a rhumb line in a northeasterly direction to meet the Pacific coast of South American mainland at the frontier between Panama and Colombia; thence due north in a northwesterly direction round the coast of central America, Mexico and California to the point of departure.

There are no subdivisions of the Eastern Central Pacific (Major Fishing Area 77) that are recognized for the collection of STATPAC catch and effort data.

The area bounded by the coastline from Canada to Chile, extending between the 50°N and 50°S parallels on the East, and the 150°W meridian on the West, thus encompassing part of French Polynesia and reaching the waters of Kiribati and Hawaii, falls under the competence of the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC) for all matters concerning tuna management.

Related Resources  
Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission. (IATTC)
Powered by FIGIS