FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

The North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission (NAMMCO) is an international regional body for cooperation on the conservation, management and study of marine mammals in the North Atlantic. Through regional cooperation, the member countries of the NAMMCO aim to strengthen and further develop effective conservation and management measures for marine mammals, which should be based on the best available scientific evidence, and should take into account both the complexity and vulnerability of the marine ecosystem, and the rights and needs of coastal communities to make a sustainable living from what the sea can provide.

NAMMCO was established by the Agreement on Cooperation in Research, Conservation and Management of Marine Mammals in the North Atlantic, signed in Nuuk, Greenland, on 9 April 1992 by the current members of the Commission. It entered into force on 7 July 1992.

Area of competenceThe North Atlantic Ocean, without any limits or further description set by the Agreement.
NAMMCO area of competence - High seas, National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll species of cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises) and pinnipeds (seals and walruses) in the region, many of which had not previously been covered by such an international agreement. Members

Member: Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland, Norway.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS