FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

The objectives of the Sub-Regional Fisheries Commission (SRFC) is to reinforce cooperation between Member States, and the coordination of policies in terms of:

  • The conservation and exploitation of fisheries resources in the sub-region;
  • The adoption of international best practices
  • Development of sub-regional cooperation with regard to tracing, controls and surveillance;
  • Development of Members' research capacities in fisheries sciences on the sub-regional level
Area of competenceMembers' territorial waters and Exclusive Economic Zones.
SRFC area of competence - National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll fisheries resources. Members

Member: Cabo Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Senegal, Sierra Leone.

Further information

Web site: http://www.spcsrp.org/

(in French only)

Powered by FIGIS