Food and Agriculture Statistics

Asia and Pacific Commission on Agricultural Statistics - 22


9 - 13 June 2008, Kuching, Malaysia

The Asia and Pacific Commission on Agricultural Statistics (APCAS) is a statutory body of FAO. APCAS brings together senior statistics Officials from FAO member countries of the Asia and Pacific region, who are responsible for the development of agricultural statistics in their respective countries. They review the developments in their agricultural statistical systems since the last session and exchange ideas with experts from FAO and other organizations on the state of food and agricultural statistics in the continent.

As per the Statute of the Commission, the Membership of the Commission is open to all Member Nations of FAO and Associate Members whose territories are situated wholly or partly in the Asia and Pacific Region or who are responsible for the international relations of any non-self-governing territories in the Region. As of Abril 2007, 24 countries were members of APCAS, namely Australia, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Bhutan, Nepal, Cambodia, New Zealand, China People’s Rep. of, Pakistan, Fiji, Philippines, France, Republic of Korea, India, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Thailand, Iran, Islamic Rep. of, United Kingdom, Japan, United States of America, Lao PDR and Viet Nam.

Purpose of the meeting
The biennial meetings of the Commission are organized to: (i) assess the current status of food and agricultural statistical development in member countries; (ii) inform the member countries about the FAO activities in food and agricultural statistics during the preceding biennium, particularly in Asia and the Pacific; and iii) discuss new developments in agricultural statistics.


Mr Jairo Castano
Senior Statistician
FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific
39 Phra Athit Road
Bangkok 10400 Thailand

Ms Yatimah Sarjiman

APCAS Liaison Officer
Agriculture and Agro-Based Statistics Division
Department of Statistics, Block C6, Complex C
Federal Government Administrative Centre
62514 Putrajaya