Silva Mediterranea

Over 90 years of Mediterranean forest management


The Chair

Dr. Mohanna, graduated as an Agriculture engineer from the Lebanese university, has a PhD from the Ecole Nationale Superieure Agronomique de Rennes. Director of the institute of Oceanography and Fisheries from 1998 to 2008. From 2008 till present he is the Director of the Rural Development and Natural Resources Directorate at the Ministry of Agriculture in Lebanon. This directorate is in charge of forestry, fisheries, pastures, irrigation and agroindustry. Dr. Mohanna is also Professor at the Saint Joseph University of Lebanon. Team leader in charge of the preparation of the National Forestry Program and of the National Reforestation Program of Lebanon. He is also the national focal point for UNFF, FAO forest activities, FLRM. Chairman of the NEFRC.



Chadi Mohanna

The previous chairs

  • From 2017 to 2019 Mr. José Manuel Jaquotot Sáenz de Miera (Spain)
  • From 2012 to 2017: Mr. Ismail Belen (Turkey)
  • From 2008 to 2012: Mr. Spas Todorov (Bulgaria)
  • From 2005 to 2008: Mr. Abderrahim Houmy (Morocco)
  • From 2002 to 2005: Mr. Fady Asmar (Lebanon)
  • From 1997 to 2002: Mr. Ismet Gümüsdere (Turkey, elected in 1997) / Mr. Ahmet Senyaz (Turkey, chairing the session in 2002)
  • From 1994 to 1997: Mr. Savvas Theophanous (Cyprus)
  • From 1992 to 1994: Mr. Fernando José Mota (Portugal)
  • From 1989 to 1992: Mr. George Sakkas (Greece, elected in 1989)/ Mr. Riad (Egypt, chairing the session in 1992)
  • From 1987 to 1989: Mr. Santiago Marraco (Spain)
  • From 1985 to 1987: Mr. Yves Birot (France)
  • From 1970 to 1985: Mr. A. Semizoglu (Turkey, elected in 1970)/ Mr. S. Bayoglu (Turkey, chairing the session in 1985)
  • From 1968 to 1970: Mr. A. De Philippis (Italy)
  • From 1965 to 1968: Mr. P. Margaropoulos (Greece)
  • From 1960 to 1965: Mr. Jean-Alfred de Vaissière (France)
last updated:  Tuesday, February 18, 2020