CIS countries facilitate commodity imports


A number of countries in the subregion implemented measures to temporarily remove or ease import restrictions. In the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) countries, as of 18 April 2020, the exemption from import custom duties on a number of critical agricultural and food products, including rye, long-grain rice and buckwheat came into force. This measure, which will remain in place until 30 June 2020, follows the introduction of a ban on the exports of some basic food products until 30 June 2020. On 3 April 2020, Uzbekistan adopted Decree 5978, which eliminates import tariffs on a number of commodities, including wheat flour, sugar, meat and dairy products until 31 December 2020. In Kyrgyzstan, a draft law to abolish the Value Added Tax (VAT) until 1 January 2025 on imports of wheat was discussed on 15 April 2020, although as of 24 April no measure had been introduced. In Georgia, the Government launched a subsidy programme for wheat imports, according to which, the beneficiary of the programme will receive a subsidy of USD 40 per tonne of imported wheat, with the condition they will sell a 50 kg bag of flour at no more than GEL 51 (USD 16). The measures come amid trade limitations implemented in the exporting countries of the subregion and a recent increase in the export price quotations of wheat.

Region: CIS (Asia & Europe)