Farmers' Organizations for Africa, Caribbean and Pacific (FO4ACP)

Saint Lucia

In each country, the goals of the FO4ACP are: Improved access to services to empower women, rural youth and vulnerable communities, Increased entrepreneurship, access to markets and financing through equitable value chains and business development services within POs, respecting sustainable food and agricultural principles, Facilitate a common sub-regional policy and program development process with governments, stakeholders and partners, including farmer and rural youth organizations, foster information exchange, training and capacity development.

Saint Lucia is a Small Island Developing State (SIDS) at latitude 13°59’N and longitude 60°59’W within the Lesser Antillean Arc of the Caribbean Archipelago. With a total area of 620 km2, it is the second largest of the Windward Islands after Dominica. The island is about 42 km long and 22 km wide. Saint Lucia is politically divided into 10 districts. The capital is Castries.

The island boasts very fertile volcanic soils but due mainly to topographic constraints only 28 percent of the total land area, or 17 360 ha, has been classified as suitable for agriculture. In 2012, the total physical cultivated area was estimated at 10 000 ha, of which 70 percent (7 000 ha) consisted of permanent crops and 30 percent (3 000 ha) of temporary crops. Permanent meadows and pasture cover 600 ha, which brings to total agricultural area to 10 600 ha.