Welcome to the David Lubin Memorial Library


| share
 > Página de acuerdo > FAO Archives > About the Archives

We regret to inform you that the Archives is undertaking urgent activities. Research visits have been significantly reduced. Please be informed that all reservations for 2024 have been completed. If you are interested in visiting in 2025, kindly send your request starting from September 2024. We regret any inconvenience. Thank you for your interest in FAO Archives.


Mission and role of the FAO Archives service

The FAO Archives provides reference service to FAO staff members who need to consult the archival material in the course of their official duties. Consultation takes place in the Archives reference room and requests can be addressed to [email protected] or extension 52832-52289. 

For external researchers see the Access page.



Approximately 3,800 linear metres: 

  • Historical archives: 1,600 l/m (20% scanned)
  • Inactive paper records: 1,900 l/m
  • Confidential personnel files: 140 l/m 
  • Financial, Personnel records + Contribution files, Conference and Council records: 25,000 Microfilms
  • Audio-visual material


Archives record groups

  1. IIA/CIS 
  2. Combined Food Board 
  3. UN Conference on Food and Agriculture (Hot Springs) 
  4. UN Interim Commission on Food and Agriculture 
  5. International Emergency Food Council 
  6. Conference of FAO 
  7. Council of FAO 
  8. Office of the Director-General 
  9. Development Department 
  10. Agriculture and Consumer Protection Department 
  11. Department of Human, Financial and Physical Resources 
  12. Economic and Social Development Department 
  13. Department of General Affairs and Information 
  14. Fisheries and Aquaculture Department 
  15. Regional Offices and Field Missions 
  16. World Food Programme 
  17. Forestry Department 
  18. Sound Recordings 
  19. Staff Organizations and Activities 
  20. Memorabilia 
  21. Donated Private Papers 
  22. (Temporary RG) UN World Food Conference 
  23. Technical Cooperation Department 
  24. Sustainable Development Department 
  25. Knowledge and Communication Department 
  26. Natural Resources Management and Environment Department