The Steering Committee of the Mountain Partnership provides programmatic orientation to the Mountain Partnership, oversees the preparation of a four-year strategy and a two-year workplan. The 18-member body monitors the work of the Mountain Partnership Secretariat, the implementation of the ‘Mountain Agenda’ and the achievements and impacts of their respective electoral groups.

Steering Committee members are elected to four-year terms by the various membership categories and regions. They meet annually and select a Chair and Vice Chairs.

The following governments and organizations are serving on the 2022-2025 Steering Committee:

Donor Organization to the MPS
Italy (Chair)

Asia and the Pacific: Nepal 
Europe: Andorra, Romania 
Central Asia: Kyrgyzstan
Near East and North Africa: Yemen
North and Central America and the Caribbean: Dominican Republic (Vice Chair), Guatemala (Alternate)
South America: PeruArgentina (Alternate)
Sub-Saharan Africa: MalawiUganda (Alternate)

Host Institution of the MPS
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Intergovernmental Organization
United Nations Environment Programme, United Nations University (Alternate)

Major Group Organizations
Asia and the Pacific: Karnali Integrated Rural Development and Research Centre (Vice Chair)Pan Himalayan Grassroots Development Foundation (Alternate)
Central Asia: Tajik Social and Ecological Union, Rural Development Fund (Alternate)
Europe: Centro de Investigação de Montanha and Euromontana, Albanian Alps Alliance (Alternate)
Global Civil Society Organization: GRID-Arendal, Aga Khan Agency for Habitat (Alternate)
Near East and North Africa: Coalition Civile pour la MontagneMountain Environment Protection Society (Alternate)
North and Central America and the Caribbean: Aspen International Mountain Foundation, The Grassroots Institute (Alternate)
South America: Centro de Estudios de Alta Montaña, Crescente Fértil (Alternate)
Sub-Saharan Africa: Foundation for Environment and Development

Home > mountain-partnership > About > Mountain Partnership Steering Committee