World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is an intergovernmental organization with a membership of 193 member states and territories. WMO originated from the International Meteorological Organization, the roots of which were planted at the 1873 Vienna International Meteorological Congress. Established by the ratification of the WMO Convention on 23 March 1950, WMO became the specialized agency of the United Nations for meteorology (weather and climate), operational hydrology and related geophysical sciences a year later. The Secretariat, headquartered in Geneva, is headed by the Secretary-General. Its supreme body is the World Meteorological Congress.

Member category Intergovernmental Organizations
Country Switzerland
Area Europe
Geographic focus of work Global - Regional - Interregional - Sub-regional - National
Head Petteri Taalas
Head title Secretary General
Focal Point title Project Manager, Global Cryosphere Watch
Focal Point Rodica Nitu
Alternate Focal Point title Head, Applied Climate Services Division - Applications for Agriculture, Energy and Health
Alternate Focal Point Robert Stefanski
Email [email protected]
Email 2 [email protected]
Electoral Group Intergovernmental Organizations
Home > mountain-partnership > Members