Food-based dietary guidelines

Food-based dietary guidelines - Argentina

Official name

Dietary guidelines for the Argentinian population.

Year of publication

Argentina launched its food-based dietary guidelines and food guide in 2000. They were revised in 2006; and are presently under a second revision.

Participating organizations

The dietary guidelines were developed in a process led by the Argentinian Association of Dietitians and Nutritionist-Dietitians, with support from the Ministries of Health and Social Development, the academia and scientific societies.

They have been declared by the National Executive Branch to be of national interest. They have been included in UNICEF and FAO’s national training materials.  

Target audience

Argentina has two sets of guidelines, one for the population 2 years and older and another one for infants below the age of 2 years. The text on this page refers to the guidelines for people 2 years and older.

Food guide

Argentina’s food guide is a nutritional ellipse which illustrates seven food groups—cereals and legumes; vegetables and fruits; dairy products; meat, poultry, fish and eggs; oils and fats; sugary products and added sugars—and water.


  • Eat in moderation and include a variety of foods in all meals.
  • Consume milk, yogurt or cheese daily; they are needed by people of all ages.
  • Eat fruits and vegetables of all kinds and colours every day.
  • Eat a wide variety of red and white meat, removing visible fat.
  • Avoid frying foods and using cooking fats.
  • Decrease your consumption of sugar and salt.
  • Increase your consumption of a variety of breads, cereals, pasta, flour and pulses.
  • Reduce your consumption of alcoholic beverages. Children, adolescents, and pregnant and nursing mothers should avoid it.
  • Drink plenty of water throughout the day.
  • Enjoy meal times and the opportunity they present for sharing time with others.