Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site


Title Asia-Pacific Forestry Commission (APFC)
Code RAP-710
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Asia-Pacific Forestry Commission

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


In March 1949, a Forestry and Timber Utilization Conference for Asia and the Pacific was convened at Mysore, India. This first inter-governmental meeting on forests in the Asia-Pacific region made a number of important recommendations on future management of regional forests and they expressed a strong desire for a permanent mechanism with responsibility for monitoring progress in the implementation of the participants’ joint declaration.

The Conference recommended the establishment of a Forestry and Forest Products Commission for Asia and the Pacific. The request was forwarded to FAO, where it was approved at the Fifth Session of the FAO Conference in November 1949.

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the Fifth Session (1960) and amended at the Sixth (1962), Tenth (1977) and Twenty-second (2008) Sessions.

Category Cat. 1

To advise on the formulation of forest policy and to review and coordinate its implementation on the regional plan; to exchange information and, generally through special Subsidiary Bodies, advise on suitable practices and action in regard to technical problems, and to make appropriate recommendations in relation to the foregoing.


Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members of FAO, whose territories are situated wholly or partly in the Asia-Pacific Region as defined by the Organization, or who are responsible for the international relations of any non-self-governing territory in that Region. Membership comprises such eligible Nations as have notified the Director-General of their desire to be considered as Members.
The United Kingdom has the status of observer member.

Number of Members 34
List of Members
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • Fiji
  • France
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Russian Federation
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • United States of America
  • Vanuatu
  • Viet Nam
Languages English
Document symbol FO:APFC
Division Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (FAO-RAP)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Asia-Pacific Forestry Commission

First Session October 1950
Pattern of sessions 1950, 1952, 1955, 1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969, 1973, 1977, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2016