Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Plant Production and Protection

Title Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM)
Code NSP-729
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article XIV


The CPM replaced the Interim Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (ICPM), which was established by the Twenty-ninth Session of the Conference in 1997 (Resolution 12/97) as an interim measure by FAO until the New Revised Text came into force on 2 October 2005.

Rules of Procedure

The CPM adopted provisional rules of procedure at its First Session in 2006. The Eighth Session (2013) of the CPM amended its own Rules of Procedure to include the rules of procedure for the CPM  Bureau and rules for observers.

Category Cat. 2

The New Revised Text of the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) approved by the FAO Conference in November 1997, which came into force in 2005, provides for the establishment of a Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) (Article XI) that will serve as the global agreement's new Governing Body. In particular, the CPM:

  • reviews the state of plant protection around the world
  • identifies action to control the spread of pests into new areas
  • develops and adopts international standards
  • establishes rules and procedures for resolving disputes
  • adopts guidelines for the recognition of regional plant protection organizations; and
  • cooperates with international organizations on matters covered by the Convention
Secretary Mr Osama El-Lissy

Open to all contracting parties to the IPPC.

Languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol CPM
Frequency of Sessions Normally one session per year
Division Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM)

First Session April 2006 as CPM (November 1998 as ICPM)
Pattern of sessions 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2005 (for ICPM); (as CPM) 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2021
Subsidiary Bodies