Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

African Forestry and Wildlife Commission (AFWC) (RAF-707)

Title African Forestry and Wildlife Commission (AFWC)
Code RAF-707
Sessions and documents

View documents of the African Forestry and Wildlife Commission

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


Established by the Conference at its Tenth Session (1959, Resolution 26/59).

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the First Session and confirmed by the Conference at its Eleventh Session (1961); amended at the Fifth (1978) and Seventeenth (2010) Session of the Commission.

Category Cat.1

To advise on the formulation of forest and wildlife management policy and to review and coordinate its implementation at the regional level; to exchange information and, generally through special Subsidiary Bodies, advise on suitable practices and action in regard to technical problems; and to make appropriate recommendations in relation to the foregoing.

Secretary Ms Nora Berrahmouni

Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members of FAO, whose territories are situated wholly or partly in the Africa Region as defined by the Organization, or who are responsible for the international relations of any non-self-governing territories in that Region. Membership comprises such eligible Nations as have notified the Director-General of their desire to be considered as Members.

Number of Members 53
List of Members
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Languages English and French
Document symbol FO:AFWC
Frequency of Sessions Normally one session per biennium
Division Regional Office for Africa (FAO-RAF)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

African Forestry and Wildlife Commission

First Session November 1960
Pattern of sessions 1960, 1969, 1972, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1989, 1992, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2018 and 2020
Subsidiary Bodies

Working Party on the Management of Wildlife and Protected Areas (FO-709)
     - Open to all Member Nations of the Commission