Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (CGRFA) (DDN-725)

Title Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (CGRFA)
Code DDN-725
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


Established as the Commission on Plant Genetic Resources by the Council at its 85th Session (1983, Resolution 1/85) as requested by the Conference (1983, Resolution 9/83). Broadened to cover all components of biodiversity of relevance to food and agriculture by the Conference (1995, Resolution 3/95), under its current name. 


Statutes adopted by the Council (1995, Resolution 1/110), at the request of the Conference.

Rules of Procedure

The Commission adopted its own Rules of Procedure at its 12th Regular Session in 2009.

Category Cat. 1
  • To keep under continuous review all matters relating to the policy, programmes and activities of FAO in the area of genetic resources of relevance to food and agriculture, including their conservation and sustainable use and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits derived from their utilization, and to advise the Director-General and the Council and, as appropriate, its Technical Committees, including in particular the Committees on Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, on such matters;
  • to recommend such measures as may be necessary or desirable to ensure the development, as appropriate, of a comprehensive global system or systems on genetic resources of relevance to food and agriculture and to monitor the operation of its/their components, in harmony, where applicable, with the Convention on Biological Diversity and other relevant international instruments;
  • to provide an intergovernmental forum for negotiations and to oversee the development, upon the request of the FAO Governing Bodies, of other international agreements, Undertakings, Codes of Conduct or other instruments relating to genetic resources of relevance to food and agriculture, and to monitor the operation of such instruments;
  • to facilitate and oversee cooperation between FAO and other international governmental and non-governmental bodies dealing with the conservation and sustainable use of genetic resources, in particular with the Conference of Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity and the UN Commission on Sustainable Development, and to seek to develop appropriate mechanisms for cooperation and coordination in consultation with such bodies;
  • subject to approval by the Governing Bodies of FAO, as appropriate, to respond to requests from the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity in the specific area of genetic resources of relevance to food and agriculture, including the provision of information and other services to the Conference of the Parties and its Subsidiary Bodies, especially in the areas of early warning systems, global assessment and clearing-house facilities, in particular, and as appropriate, through the Global System for the Conservation and Utilization of Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture.
Secretary Ms Irene Hoffmann

Open to all Members and Associate Members of the Organization, and composed of those Members or Associate Members that notify the Director-General of their desire to be considered Members.

Chairperson Mr William Wigmore (Cook Islands)
Number of Members 179
List of Members
  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • European Union (Member Organization)
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Korea
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Viet Nam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol CGRFA
Frequency of Sessions The Commission normally holds one regular session each biennium. It may also decide to convene extraordinary sessions as necessary, subject to the approval of the FAO Council.
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

First Session March 1985 (as the Commission on Plant Genetic Resources)
Subsidiary Bodies

The Commission may establish Intergovernmental Sectorial Working Groups, with appropriate geographical balance, in the areas of plant, animal, forestry and fisheries genetic resources. There are currently three Sectoral Working Groups:

The Commission may establish such other Subsidiary Bodies as it may deem necessary for the effective discharge of its functions. In 2011, the Commission decided to establish: