Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

FAO/WHO Codex Coordinating Committee for Africa (CJW-707)

Title FAO/WHO Codex Coordinating Committee for Africa
Code CJW-707
Sessions and documents

View documents of the FAO/WHO Codex Coordinating Committee for Africa

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Rule XI-1(b) (ii) of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

Rules of Procedure

The Rules of Procedure of the Commission shall apply mutatis mutandis to its subsidiary bodies. (Rule XI.11)

Category Cat. 1

The Committee

  • (a) defines the problems and needs of the Regions concerning food standards and food control;
  • (b) promotes within the Committee contacts for the mutual exchange of information on proposed regulatory initiatives and problems arising from food control and stimulates the strengthening of food control infrastructures;
  • (c) recommends to the Commission the development of worldwide standards for products of interest to the Region, including products considered by the Committee to have an international market potential in the future;
  • (d) develops regional standards for food products moving exclusively or almost exclusively in intra-regional trade;
  • (e) draws the attention of the Commission to any aspects of the Commission's work of particular significance to the Region;
  • (f) promotes coordination of all regional food standards work undertaken by international governmental and non-governmental organizations within the Region;
  • (g) exercises a general coordinating role for the Region and such other functions as may be entrusted to it by the Commission;
  • (h) promotes the acceptance of Codex standards and maximum limits for residues by Member Nations.

Open to all Members of the Commission within the geographical location of Africa.

Chairperson Mr Hakim Mufumbiro
Number of Members 49
List of Members
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Languages English, French and Portuguese
Document symbol CX/AFRICA
Frequency of Sessions Approximately every two years
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

CODEX Alimentarius

First Session June 1974
Pattern of sessions 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015

Subsidiary Body of the FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius Commission