Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

European Commission on Agriculture (ECA) (REU-701)

Title European Commission on Agriculture (ECA)
Code REU-701
Sessions and documents

View documents of the European Commission on Agriculture

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


Established by the Director-General in 1949 on the recommendation of a preparatory meeting of representatives of European Member Nations (Paris, 1949) as the "European Committee on Agricultural Technology"; formally recognized as an Article VI-1 Body and its functions defined by the Conference at its Sixth Session (1951, Resolution 87). The title was changed to "European Committee on Agriculture" by decision of the Council at its Fifteenth Session (1952) and in 1956 changed again to the present title. The Commission's terms of reference were broadened by the Conference at its Ninth Session (1957, Resolution 26/57).

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the Fourth Session (1952). Amended at the Sixth (1954), Tenth (1958), Thirteenth (1963), Seventeenth (1970), Twentieth (1976), Twenty-first (1978), Twenty-sixth (1989), Twenty-eighth (1993), Thirty-fifth (2008), and Fortieth (2017) Sessions.

Category Cat. 1

To assist Member Governments to undertake joint action and to cooperate in technological agricultural problems, including research, education, extension, review of all nutrition questions, questions relating to agricultural economy not under the purview of the Committee on Commodity Problems, and related activities in or by Member Governments in Europe, as well as to encourage and facilitate cooperation between international governmental and non-governmental organizations concerned with agriculture in Europe; and to make recommendations on all matters within its geographical and technical competence. Following a request by the 22nd FAO Regional Conference for Europe, the Commission is now directly linked to the FAO Regional Conference for Europe and outcome of its deliberations is submitted to the Regional Conference (see CL 119/PV).

Secretary Mr Piotr Wlodarczyk

Open to all Member Nations in the FAO European Region. The Sixth Session (1954) recommended that Member Governments should designate representatives to the Commission who could serve in a continuing capacity.

Number of Members 55
List of Members
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • European Union (Member Organization)
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Türkiye
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Uzbekistan
Languages English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol ECA
Division Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia (FAO-REU)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

European Commission on Agriculture

First Session September 1949
Pattern of sessions 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1984, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2022
Subsidiary Bodies

Working Party on Women and the Family in Rural Development (abolished in 2014)


The 119th Session of the Council approved the Commission’s revised mandate which is geared to reviewing technical aspects and issues of importance to European Agriculture and Rural Development. The results of discussions and recommendations stemming from the ECA, are submitted to the FAO Regional Conference for Europe for policy discussion and adoption. The Commission also monitors the activities of the European System of Cooperative Research Networks in Agriculture (ESCORENA).