Previous PageTable of ContentsNext Page


1. The Eighty-eighth Session of the Council was held in Rome from 4 to 7 November 1985 under the Chairmanship of M.S. Swaminathan, Independent Chairman of the Council.

Adoption of the Agenda and Timetable1

2. The agenda and timetable of the Session were adopted unanimously. The agenda as adopted is given in Appendix A to this report.

Election of three Vice-Chairmen, and Designation of the Chairman and Members of the Drafting Committee2

3. The Council elected three Vice-Chairmen for its session: Atif Y. Bukhari (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia); Henri Arphang Senghor (Senegal) and Hermann Redl (Austria).

4. The Council elected David R. Gregory (Australia) as Chairman of the Drafting Committee with the following membership: Australia, Brazil, Denmark, India, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, Senegal, Tanzania, United States of America and Yemen (People's Democratic Republic of).

1 CL 88/1; CL 88/INF/1; CL 88/PV/l; CL 88/PV/7.

2 CL 88/PV/l; CL 88/PV/3; CL 88/PV/7.