> Página de acuerdo > Página de acuerdo
 

About

On 10 June 1952, the Library of FAO was officially opened and named the David Lubin Memorial Library:
"In recognition of the foresight, leadership, and outstanding contribution of David Lubin to international co-operation in the field of agriculture". (FAO Conference 1950)

Today the David Lubin Memorial Library preserves one and a half million FAO and non-FAO publications, among which a collection of rare books and incunabula and the historic collections of the International Institute of Agriculture (IIA), the predecessor of FAO. [more]

The Library welcomes both FAO staff and external visitors.

Digital resources

FAO staff has access to a number of digital resources like EIU, EconLit and some important bibliographic databases like the Web of Science and CAB Abstracts. For an overview of online journals please browse the FAO Journal Finder.

Explore the catalog

Search the public online FAO Library Catalog to find FAO documents since 1945 (digital and print), non FAO monographs since 1976 and an extensive FAO and non FAO serials collection. To consult the IIA collections and pre-1976 non FAO material, write us at fao-library-reference@fao.org.

FAO LIBRARY CATALOG


NEW BOOKS
The story of the FAO Library: 65th anniversary,
1952-2017


The book tells the story of the historic events that shaped the Library of FAO. It starts with the International Institute of Agriculture (IIA), the predecessor of FAO, founded in 1905 in Rome upon the initiative of David Lubin. When FAO was founded in 1945 its was quickly decided that it should become the custodian of the IIA and its library. the FAO Library was officially opened in 1952 and named the David Lubin Memorial Library. Today the Library preserves one and a half million volumes, which together form the memory of FAO.

Check out more New books