Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site


Title Commission for Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture of Latin America and the Caribbean (COPESCAALC)
Code RLC-758
Sessions and documents

View documents of the COPESCAALC

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


The Commission was established by the Council at its 70th Session (1976, Resolution 4/70).


Name and STATUTES of the Commission were changed in 2010 by the 140th Session of the Council (Resolution 1/140).

Rules of Procedure

Rules of Procedure were adopted by the Commission at its First Session (1979).

Category Cat. 1

The purpose of the Commission is to promote the management and sustainable development of inland fisheries and aquaculture in accordance with the principles and rules of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries of FAO. In addition, the Commission shall:

  • foster the development of inland fisheries and aquaculture as an instrument of support to food security;
  • pay special attention to subsistence inland fisheries and small-scale aquaculture;
  • be able to establish coordination and cooperation relations with other international organizations in thematic areas of mutual interest.

Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members serviced by the Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean which notify the Director-General of their desire to be considered as Members.

Number of Members 21
List of Members
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Languages English, French and Spanish
Document symbol COPESCAALC
Division Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean (RLC)
Contact information/email

Web site

Information available on the following web sites:

First Session March 1979
Pattern of sessions 1979, 1981, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2011 and 2014