Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

International Rice Commission (SUSPENDED) (AGP-723)

Title International Rice Commission (SUSPENDED)
Code AGP-723
Next Session

In 2013 the Commission adopted a Resolution in which it agreed to suspend all its activities and operations.

Sessions and documents

View documents of the International Rice Commission

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article XIV


The Conference, at its Fourth Session (1948), approved the establishment of the Commission and instructed the Director-General to proceed with its organization as soon as the required number of Member Governments had accepted the IRC Constitution formulated by the International Rice Meeting in Baguio (Philippines) in March 1948. The Constitution of the Commission came into force on 4 January 1949 and was amended in 1953, 1955, 1961, 1973 and 1982.

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the First Session (1949). Amended at the Third (1952), Fourth (1954), Seventh (1960), the Special (1973) and Fifteenth (1982) Sessions.

Category Cat. 1

To promote national and international action in matters relating to the production, conservation, distribution and consumption of rice. The Secretariat of the IRC has the following functions:

  • Assemble, analyze and disseminate, through the FAO publications and other mediums, information on rice and related.
  • Organize Regular Sessions of the Commission for member countries and partner institutions to review the emerging issues and recent achievements in scientific, technical and socio-economic matters relating to sustainable intensification of rice production and to provide opportunity for extensive interaction among national, regional and international institutions.
  • Provide recommendations to the Members of the Commission, through the FAO Director-General, regarding necessary or desirable national and international actions as may appear to the Commission for the solution of issues and challenges to sustainable intensification of rice production. 
  • Undertake, where necessary and appropriate, co-operative projects to promote sustainable intensification of rice production.

Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members that accept the IRC Constitution in accordance with provisions of Article VIII thereof.

Number of Members 62
List of Members
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Viet Nam
Languages English, French and Spanish
Document symbol IRC
Frequency of Sessions Normally one session every four years
Division Plant Production and Protection Division (AGP)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

International Rice Commission

First Session March 1949
Pattern of sessions 1949, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1956, 1958, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1966, 1968, 1972, 1973 (Special Session), 1977, 1982, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2012 and 2013 (Special Session)