Committee on World Food Security

Making a difference in food security and nutrition

المكتب و المجموعة الاستشارية

المكتب هو الفرع التنفيذي للجنة. يتألف المكتب من رئيس و 12 الدول الأعضاء: اثنان من كل من أفريقيا وآسيا وأوروبا والشرق الأدنى وأمريكا اللاتينية وواحد من كل من أمريكا الشمالية وجنوب غرب المحيط الهادئ.

المكتب 2019-2021


Mr. Thanawat Tiensin was elected as Chairperson of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) on October 18, 2019.

As the Permanent Representative of Thailand to the UN Agencies in Rome, he has taken on other responsibilities such as Vice Chairperson of the 41st FAO Conference, Chairperson of the Asia Regional Group, Bureau member of the FAO Committee on Agriculture (COAG), Bureau member of the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (CGRFA), Bureau member and Rapporteur of the Plenary Assembly of Global Soil Partnership (GSP), Bureau member of the G77 & China, and Vice Chairperson and Member of the FAO Council in 2018.

Mr. Tiensin was a former Assistant Director General and Senior Expert on International Livestock Trade and Cooperation at Thailand’s Department of Livestock Development, Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives. He has worked for international development programmes in various technical areas such as agriculture, livestock, food security and food safety, international trade, and capacity building of veterinary service related issues with FAO, ADB, APHCA, EU, IAEA, and OIE in several countries including DPR Korea, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Nepal, and Thailand.

With over 50 academic publications, he also provides lectures and technical services for various national and international universities and institutions. Mr. Tiensin has a Ph.D. in Veterinary Epidemiology and Economics from Utrecht University, The Netherlands and a Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.) from Kasetsart University, Thailand.

أعضاء المكتب الحالية:

أفغانستان الأرجنتين أستراليا
بنغلاديش البرازيل كابو فيردي
كندا كوستاريكا جمهورية الدومينيكان
غينيا الاستوائية فرنسا الهند
إندونيسيا إيران مالي
موريتانيا نيوزيلندا عمان
الاتحاد الروسي السنغال جمهورية كوريا
إسبانيا سويسرا الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

المجموعة الاستشارية

The Advisory Group helps the Bureau advance the Committee’s objectives in particular to ensure linkages with different stakeholders at regional, sub-regional and local levels and to ensure an ongoing, two-way exchange of information.

The Advisory group is made up of representatives from the 5 different categories of CFS Participants. These are:

  1. UN agencies and other UN bodies
  2. Civil society and non-governmental organizations particularly organizations representing smallholder family farmers, fisherfolks, herders, landless, urban poor, agricultural and food workers, women, youth, consumers and indigenous people
  3. International agricultural research institutions
  4. International and regional financial institutions such as the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, regional development banks and the World Trade Organization
  5. Private sector associations and philanthropic foundations.

UN Bodies:


CFS Civil Society Mechanism (CSM)  represented by:

International Agricultural Research Bodies:

International Financial and Trade Institutions:

Private Sector/Philanthropic Foundations: