Page tools
codexalimentarius > Committees > Committee

Executive Committee of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CCEXEC)

Terms of Reference:See the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. The Executive Committee shall consist of the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission, and the Coordinators appointed on the basis of Rule IV together with seven further Members elected by the Commission at regular sessions from among the Members of the Commission, one each coming from the following geographic locations: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America, South-West Pacific. Not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.
V.2: The Executive Committee shall, between sessions of the Commission, act on behalf of the Commission as its executive organ. In particular, the Executive Committee may make proposals to the Commission regarding general orientation, strategic planning, and programming of the work of the Commission, study special problems and shall assist in the management of the Commission’s programme of standards development, namely by conducting a critical review of proposals to undertake work and monitoring the progress of standards development.
V.3: The Executive Committee shall consider specific matters referred to it by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO as well as the estimate of expenditure for the Commission’s proposed programme of work as described in Rule XIII.1.
Host:FAO (Rome) and WHO (Geneva)