Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission (APFIC) (RAP-711)

Title Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission (APFIC)
Code RAP-711
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article XIV


APFIC was established by an international Agreement in November 1948 as recommended by the Third Session of the FAO Conference in 1947.

Rules of Procedure

RULES OF PROCEDURE: Amended by the Commission at its Twenty-fifth Session (1996) and concurred by the FAO Council at its 112th Session.

Category Cat. 1

To promote the full and proper utilization of living aquatic resources by the development and management of fishing and culture operations and by the development of related processing and marketing activities in conformity with the objectives of its Members.


Member Nations and Associate Members of the Organization which accept the Agreement in accordance with Article X thereof. Other Nations that are Members of the United Nations, any of its Specialized Agencies or the International Atomic Energy Agency may be admitted as Members by a two-thirds majority of the Commission's Membership.

Number of Members 21
List of Members
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • France
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Viet Nam
Languages English
Document symbol APFIC
Frequency of Sessions Normally one session per biennium
Division FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (RAP)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Information available on the following web sites:

First Session March 1949, Singapore