New HLPE-FSN Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson


©FAO/Cristiano Minichiello


During their inaugural meeting, the new HLPE-FSN Steering Committee elected Akiko Suwa-Eisenmann as the Chairperson and Iain Wright as the Vice-Chairperson of the Panel. This leadership team will guide the HLPE-FSN's efforts in providing scientific evidence and recommendations to inform CFS policy guidelines, assessing and analysing the current state of food security and its underlying causes, and helping governments prioritize future actions to end world hunger and malnutrition.

Akiko Suwa-Eisenmann, HLPE-FSN Chairperson

“As we are facing multiple crises, climate change, rising inequalities and conflicts, our responsibility as the UN-mandated science-policy interface on food security and nutrition has never been so pressing. We must respond to this urgency by providing accurate evidence-based knowledge to the CFS, in a transparent, comprehensive and inclusive way. Today, more than ever, we need to place the right to food at the core of the international political agenda”, Akiko Suwa-Eisenmann explained during the election day.

Akiko Suwa-Eisenmann, national of Japan, is a senior scientist in INRAE, France, and a professor at the Paris School of Economics. Iain Wright, national of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, is the Deputy Director General-Integrated Sciences at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), one of the CGIAR research centres, based in Nairobi, Kenya.

Iain Wright, HLPE-FSN Vice-Chairperson

“The world is looking to us. Ignoring the urgency of food security jeopardizes the foundation of stable societies and equitable progress. Now, more than ever, we must work to ensure that the battle against hunger becomes the top priority on the global political stage and that science makes the right contribution to it”, Iain Wright added.

Chosen for their outstanding contributions to food security and nutrition-related disciplines, these experts bring a wealth of knowledge and experience.

Good luck to both of them for the important work to be carried out in the next two years!

Visit the Steering Committee’s web page for more information about each member

Photos' copyright: FAO/Cristiano Minichiello