The HLPE-FSN is governed by a steering committee of 15 world-renowned scientists drawn from academia, research institutions, the public and private sector, civil society and other constituencies.

The membership to the Steering Committee is renewed every two years, through an open nomination process based on scientific excellence. The following experts have been appointed by the Bureau of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) to serve as members of the Steering Committee of the HLPE-FSN.

This leadership team will guide the HLPE-FSN's efforts in providing scientific evidence and recommendations to inform CFS policy guidelines, assessing and analysing the current state of food security and its underlying causes, and helping governments prioritize future actions to end world hunger and malnutrition.

This Committee works with an extensive network of over  2 000 experts from a variety of academic disciplines.


Read about the drafting team working on urban and peri-urban food security and nutrition

Read about the former members of the HLPE-FSN