Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission (WECAFC)

About WECAFC Structure

The general objective of the Commission is to promote the effective conservation, management and development of the living marine resources of the area of competence of the Commission, in accordance with the FAO Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries, and address common problems of fisheries management and development faced by members of the Commission.​

The main governing body of WECAFC is the Commission. It is composed of all members. Meetings of the Commission are normally held every two years.

As decided by the 17th meeting of WECAFC, a roadmap to move towards the development of a regional fisheries management entity or arrangement in WECAFC’s area of competence is being implemented .

Area of competence

The area of competence is the Western Central Atlantic, it includes FAO Statistical Area 31 and the northern part of Statistical Area 41.

Launch the RFBs map viewer

Species and stock coverage

The species under the WECAFC competence are all living marine resources, without prejudice to the management responsibilities and authority of other competent fisheries and other living marine resources management organizations or arrangements in the area.

Legal framework

The WECAFC was established in 1973 by Resolution 4/61 of the FAO Council under Article VI of the FAO Constitution. Its statutes were amended by the FAO Council at its Seventy-fourth Session in December 1978 and by the Hundred and Thirty-first Session of the FAO Council in November 2006.