هيلي غابرييل

لقب: المدير العام المساعد والممثل الإقليمي لأفريقيا

لأفريقيا

سيرة ذاتية

السيد Abebe Haile-Gabriel، مواطن إثيوبي، يدافع منذ زمن طويل عن الدور الحيوي للزراعة في التنمية المستدامة. ويقدم Haile-Gabriel للمنظمة من خلال خبرته الواسعة في المشهد الإنمائي جنوب الصحراء، معارفه العملية وخبرته الفنية ونهجه الاستراتيجي لمواجهة التحديات التنموية في الإقليم.

وفي منصبه السابق ككبير المديرين في مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي عمل مع أصحاب المصلحة والشركاء الرئيسيين بدءًا من المسؤولين الحكوميين إلى منظمات المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص والمزارعين، وغيرهم.

وبدأ Haile-Gabriel مسيرته المهنية في الأوساط الأكاديمية في عام 1986، وعمل كعضو في هيئة تدريس في جامعة أليمايا في إثيوبيا حتى عام 2005. وانضمّ Haile-Gabriel، الذي يُعدّ بطلًا في نظام التعليم العالي وقدرة المنطقة الريفية في توجيه مسار القارة نحو التنمية، إلى مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي، كمدير قسم بحوث الحبوب الغذائية وتنميتها في المناطق شبه القاحلة، في واغادوغو، بوركينا فاسو، ثم تولّى منصب رئيس قسم الاقتصاد الريفي.

ومن عام 2011 إلى عام 2015، شغل منصب مدير إدارة الاقتصاد الريفي والزراعة في مقر الاتحاد الأفريقي في أديس أبابا، إثيوبيا.

وانضم Haile-Gabriel إلى المنظمة في عام 2015 كنائب الممثل الإقليمي لأفريقيا وممثل غانا. وقاد أيضًا البرنامج الإقليمي لأفريقيا منذ عام 2017.

وهو حاصل على شهادة الدكتوراه وماجستير في التنمية الزراعية والريفية من المعهد الدولي للدراسات الاجتماعية، في لاهاي، هولندا. وحصل على شهادة بكالوريوس العلوم في الاقتصاد الزراعي من جامعة أليمايا (المعروفة اليوم بجامعة العلوم الزراعية هارامايا) في إثيوبيا.

كلمات

لم يتم العثور على سجلات.

أرشيف الأنباء

لم يتم العثور على سجلات.

Abebe Haile-Gabriel

Title: Assistant Director-General, Regional Representative for Africa

Africa

E-mail: [email protected]

Biography

Abebe Haile-Gabriel, a national of Ethiopia, is a long-time champion of the crucial role of agriculture in sustainable development. With extensive experience in the sub-Saharan development landscape, Haile-Gabriel brings to the organization his practical knowledge, technical expertise and strategic approach to the developmental challenges of the region. 

In his previous capacity as a senior manager at the African Union Commission (AUC), he engaged with crucial stakeholders and partners ranging from government officials to civil society organizations, private sector, farmers, etc. 

Haile-Gabriel began his career in the academia in 1986, and served as a faculty member of the Alemaya University in Ethiopia until 2005. A champion of the higher education system and the potential of the rural area in steering the continent’s path towards development, Haile-Gabriel soon joined the AUC as Director of the Semi-Arid Food Grains Research and Development based in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, and then assumed the role as Head of the Rural Economy Division. 

From 2011 to 2015, he served as Director of the Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture based at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Haile-Gabriel joined FAO in 2015 as Deputy Regional Representative for Africa and Representative to Ghana. He was also the Regional Programme Leader for Africa since 2017.

The ADG holds a Doctorate and a Master of Arts degree in Agricultural and Rural Development from the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) at The Hague, the Netherlands. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Economics from the Alemaya (now Haramaya University) University of Agriculture in Ethiopia. 

Speeches

No records found.

In the media

The New Times

When zero is a win: Eliminating hunger and malnutrition from Africa

Devex

Trade within Africa will help maintain food security through the pandemic, FAO says

The Economist

The race to feed Africa during a pandemic

Morden Ghana

Time To Show True African Solidarity Is Now; Reflections On COVID-19

CNR

Time To Show True African Solidarity Is Now; Reflections On COVID-19

El Pais

Morirse de hambre por no hacerlo de coronavirus

PML Daily

ABEBE HAILE-GABRIEL: Investing in resilience and food security leads to peace