Page tools
codexalimentarius > Committees > Executive Committee > Composition & Roles

Composition, Roles of Members and History of the Executive Committee


The composition of the Executive Committee is given in the first part of Rule V.1:

“The Executive Committee shall consist of the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission, and the Coordinators appointed on the basis of Rule IV together with seven further Members elected by the Commission at regular sessions from among the Members of the Commission, one each coming from the following geographic locations: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America, South-West Pacific. Not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee. …”

Roles of members

The roles of the members of the Executive Committee are as follows:

Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons: The Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission shall be respectively the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons of the Executive Committee. (Rule V.5)

Members elected on a geographical basis: Members elected on a geographic basis are expected to act within the Executive Committee in the interest of the Commission as a whole. (Rule V.1)

Regional Coordinators: To assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-government organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest. (Rule IV.3(c))