Home > About FAO > Meetings > International Symposium on Fisheries Sustainability > Advisory board > Advisory Committee
International Symposium on Fisheries Sustainability

Advisory Committee


Position and Affiliation

Dr (Mr) Manuel Barange

FAO Symposium convenor. Director FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Policy and Resources Division, Italy

Dr (Ms) Claudia S. Beltran Turriago

Fisheries value chain consultant, El Salvador

Prof (Mr) Anthony Charles

School of the Environment & School of Business; Saint Mary's University, Canada

Dr (Mr) Lifeng Cui

China National Fisheries Technology Extension Center, China Society of Fisheries, China

Dr (Mr) Sloans Kalumba Chimatiro

WorldFish, Zambia

Prof (Mr) Kevern Cochrane

Department of Ichthyology and Fisheries Science, Rhodes University, South Africa

Dr (Mr) Guillermo Compean

Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission, USA

Prof (Mr) Christopher Costello

Donald Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, University of California, USA

Prof (Ms) Charlotte de Fontaubert

The World Bank, USA

Prof (Ms) Beth Fulton

CSIRO, Australia

Prof (Mr) Ray Hilborn

School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Prof (Mr) Simon Jennings

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea, Denmark

Mr Tony Long

Global Fishing Watch, USA

Ms Editrudith Lukanga (TBC)

World Forum of Fish Harvesters & Fish Workers, Tanzania

Dr (Ms) Abigail Lynch

U.S. Geological Survey's National Climate Adaptation Science Center, USA

Prof (Mr) Bertrum H. MacDonald

School of Information Management, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

Mr Alastair Macfarlane

Ministry for Primary Industry, New Zealand

Dr (Ms) Sangeeta Mangubhai

Wildlife Conservation Society, Fiji

Dr (Ms) Ana Parma

Centro Nacional Patagonico (CONICET), Argentina

Dr (Mr) Ernesto Penas Lado

European Commission, Belgium

Dr (Ms) Shakuntala Thilsted

WorldFish, Cambodia

Dr (Ms) Vivienne Solis

Coope SoliDAR R.L., Costa Rica

Prof (Mr) Rashid Sumaila

Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries, University of British Columbia, Canada

Prof (Mr) Atsushi Sunami

Ocean Policy Research Institute, The Sasakawa Peace Foundation

Dr (Ms) Meryl J. Williams

Gender in Aquaculture and Fisheries Section, Asian Fisheries Society, Malaysia