AQUASTAT - FAO's Global Information System on Water and Agriculture

    Regional Overview of Africa

    Year: 2005

    Download the report: PDF (english); PDF (french)

    General summary

    The 53 African countries have been grouped into seven regions based on geographical and climatic homogeneity, which has a direct influence on irrigation. These regions and the countries they include are:

    • Northern: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia;
    • Sudano-Sahelian: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Djibouti, Eritrea, Gambia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan;
    • Gulf of Guinea: Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo;
    • Central: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe;
    • Eastern: Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania;
    • Southern: Botswana, Eswantini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe;
    • Indian Ocean Islands: Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles.

    They are identical to the regions in the previous report Irrigation in Africa in figures (FAO, 1995), which allows comparison with the earlier data. This general summary presents distinguishing features arising from the new data collected on a national scale for issues addressed in the country profiles. The interest of this new survey lies both in the updating of data and in the trends in the last ten years.

    The country profiles are either in English or in French, depending on the official FAO language of the country.