Sistemas Importantes del Patrimonio Agrícola Mundial (SIPAM)

Four new Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems from Bangladesh and Japan were awarded by FAO Director-General

Rome, Italy, 15 December 2015

On 15th December 2015, four systems were newly designated as GIAHS on the occasion of Joint Meeting of GIAHS Steering and Scientific Committee. Director-General of FAO awarded certificates to representatives from each site.

Four new GIAHS sites are as follows;

  • Floating Garden Agricultural Practices, Bangladesh
  • Ayu of the Nagara River System, Japan
  • Minabe-Tanabe Ume System, Japan
  • Takachihogo-Shiibayama Mountainous Agriculture and Forestry System, Japan

-News Article in FAO website (English)