Science, Technology and Innovation

Chief Scientists’ Round table: Science and Innovation for SDG2

When: 20 October 2022 | 09:00 – 10:45 hrs (CEST)

Where: FAO Plenary Hall

Modality: Hybrid

The 2030 Agenda, adopted at the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit in September 2015, positioned Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) as key means of implementation of the SDGs. In the Addis Ababa Action Agenda, Member States had committed to “adopt science, technology and innovation strategies as integral elements of our national sustainable development strategies”. Accordingly, FAO Members made several efforts to achieve the SDG2 (Zero Hunger). However, between 702 and 828 million people were still affected by hunger in 2021 and the number has grown by about 150 million since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. FAO intends to contribute directly to achieve SDGs, SDG1 (No Poverty), SDG2 (Zero Hunger) and SDG10 (Reduced Inequalities) by transforming agrifood systems to MORE efficient, inclusive, resilient and sustainable for better production, better nutrition, a better environment, and a better life, leaving no one behind. In this context, the session will share the experiences at the national level by the Chief Scientists of FAO Members in addressing the challenges of agriculture and food insecurity and examine gaps, and prioritize actions, including strengthening of national research systems, and promote cross-sectoral collaborations. The session will also highlight the relevant initiatives of the G20 Meeting of Agricultural Chief Scientists (MACS). 
The session will be interpreted in all UN languages, online through Airmeet platform, UN web TV and webcast.


09:00 – 09:05

Introduction by the moderator

Anne Mullen 
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Food
09:05- 09:10


Maria Helena Semedo
Deputy DG, FAO 

09:10 – 10:20

















Moderated panel discussion

Anne Mullen 
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Food 

Osamu Koyama 
Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS) 

Himanshu Pathak
Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE)
Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) 

Romito Graziella  
Director, Ministry of Agriculture and Agri-Food, 

Mei Xurong
Vice President, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)

Akinlabi Kazeem Jimoh
Editor in Chief, Nature Africa

Fadjry Djufry
Director General, Indonesian Agency for Agricultural Research and Development (IAARD)

Claudia Sadoff
Executive Managing Director, CGIAR

10:20 – 10:40

Moderated Q&A Session

Anne Mullen
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Food


Summary of key messages and recommendations

Anne Mullen
Editor-in-Chief, Nature Food