Advisory Panel

An FAO Task Force, composed of representatives from different departments, serves as the executing body of the symposium and is responsible for taking decisions regarding the development and delivery of the symposium.  

A 16-member external Advisory Panel of internationally recognized experts and stakeholders has been established to provide advice and guidance to the Task Force. The Panel is co-chaired by Louise Fresco (President of the Executive Board of Wageningen University, the Netherlands) and Shadrack Moephuli (President of the Agricultural Research Council, South Africa). Two members of the Panel, from the private sector and the civil society, were identified through a process managed by FAO’s Office for Partnerships, Advocacy and Capacity Development. The other 14 members sit on the Panel in their personal capacities and in choosing them, FAO gave consideration to criteria such as geographical location and areas of technical expertise. Seven are from OECD countries and seven from non-OECD countries. 

A first meeting of the Advisory Panel was held on 3-4 June 2015 at FAO headquarters in Rome. Here, the members provided advice, inter alia, on the main themes, sub-themes and overall structure of the symposium. The report of the meeting is available here.