The European Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (EuFMD)

The Structure

The programme activities of EuFMD's Strategic Plan for 2019-2023 are in line with the mandates of the Commission. The Strategy of the Commission is firmly aligned with the EuFMD Constitution which provides mandate for its activities.

The Structure at a glance

  • Currently there are 39 member nations whom elect an Executive Committee from eight different European member countries, a Standing Technical Committee (STC) of six experts, a Special Committee for Surveillance and Applied Research (SCSAR) and a Special Committee on Biorisk management (SCBRM).
  • The Commission provides its support to a specialized reference laboratory (World Reference Laboratory for FMD) based in the United Kingdom.
  • Together with the FAO and WOAH, the Commission supports the implementation of the Progressive Control Pathway for FMD (PCP-FMD) in assisting national and regional actions, which is used as a tool for progress under the Global Strategy for FMD Control.