ORGANISATION DES NATIONS UNIES POUR L'ALIMENTATION ET L'AGRICULTURE - aider à construire un monde libéré de la faim
FAO

Aspects économiques de
    l'Agriculture de conservation (1)
Adoption de l'AC
Les agriculteurs sont souvent plus intéressés par des solutions ou techniques dont les effets sont visibles dans un délai court, or les effets de l'AC tant sur le plan technique et qu'économique ne sont visibles qu'à moyen et long termes, une fois que ses principes fondamentaux (réduction ou absence de labour, couverture permanente du sol et, rotations culturales) sont déjà bien intégrés dans le fonctionnement du système de production.

En fait, si les deux systèmes (agriculture traditionnelle et AC) sont pratiqués sur deux parcelles placées dans les mêmes conditions agro-écologiques et de fertilité, on ne peut pas s'attendre à de grandes différences de productivité pendant les premières années. Toutefois, après plusieurs années de culture des mêmes plantes sur les mêmes parcelles, les différences entres les deux systèmes deviennent plus évidentes et nettes.

L'AC exige de nouveaux modes de pensée et de représentation de l'activité agricole. Parallèlement à l'émergence de cette " nouvelle représentation de l'agriculture ", il existe déjà plusieurs références techniques et agronomiques qui pourraient servir de réponse aux producteurs qui hésitent encore à adopter les principes de l'AC. Mais, il est nécessaire de faire des démonstrations pour montrer aux producteurs que les aspects agronomiques et techniques sont directement liés aux modes de gestion économique, et donc, que les améliorations obtenues sur le plan technique et agronomiques grâce à l'AC doivent être quantifiées et évaluées en termes monétaires et économiques.

Avant toute analyse de la gestion de l'exploitation et des aspects économiques de l'AC, il est judicieux de subdiviser le processus d'adoption/adaptation en 4 phases théoriques. Cette division théorique, représentée dans la figure 1, facilite et structure la démarche de travail lorsqu'on cherche à analyser les activités de l'exploitation et l'impact de l'adoption de nouvelles technologies sur le processus de production :
  • Phase 1 - Amélioration des techniques de labour : Pendant cette première phase, aucune augmentation sur les résultats de l'exploitation n'est envisagée. Mais des réductions pourraient survenir au niveau : de la main d'ouvre, les temps de travaux, le recours à l'énergie animale ou mécanique (réduction des coûts de production). Une augmentation dans l'utilisation des produits agro-chimiques, notamment pour le contrôle de l'enherbement. En plus, il pourrait y avoir une augmentation des dépenses du ménage pour compenser une probable (mais non certaine) réduction de la production comparativement à l'agriculture conventionnelle.
  • Phase 2 -Amélioration des propriétés du sol et de la fertilité. Réduction des besoins en main d'ouvre, temps, traction animale, énergie animale et mécanique (réduction des coûts de production). Augmentation des rendements, et conséquemment des revenus nets de l'exploitation.
  • Phase 3 - Diversification des systèmes de culture. Rendements élevés et plus stables. Augmentation des revenus de l'exploitation et amélioration de la fertilité du sol.
  • Phase 4. Le système de production intégré fonctionnement bien. Stabilité de la production et de la productivité. Le producteur a tous les indicateurs pour apprécier la totalité des avantages techniques et économiques de l'AC.

(1)L'essentiel de ce texte est tiré de :
FAO. 2004. Conservation of natural resources for sustainable agriculture: training modules. FAO Land and Water Digital Media Series CD-ROM 27. FAO, Rome. Original references are given in the CD-ROM.

Figure 1. Les différentes phases de transition de l'agriculture traditionnelle à l'agriculture conventionnelle / processus d'adoption de l'AC


Les changements techniques
En raison des opportunités et des avantages que présente le changement technique pour passer à l'AC (augmentation des productions et des niveaux de revenus, réduction des coûts de production) il est important de prendre en considération le processus d'adoption/adaptation et diffusions des innovations techniques. Les potentialités économiques de l'AC en termes de coûts de production, bénéfices, rendements, conservation des sols etc. sont importantes. Toutefois, une faible maîtrise des pratiques d'AC peut pendant les premières années rendre incertain l'impact de l'AC sur les rendements et l'utilisation des intrants. Il est important de garder présent à l'esprit que les décisions d'adoption/adaptation se prennent souvent dans un environnement fait d'incertitudes (aléas de la nature et du marché). Le comportement des agriculteurs vis-à-vis le risque, et en particulier leurs stratégies d'aversion au risque doivent également être pris en compte.

Il existe 4 critères (2) à prendre en compte pour l'adoption des pratiques d'AC :
  1. elles doivent procurer aux producteurs dans un bref délai des résultats concrets et intéressants sur le plan économique
  2. les bénéfices doivent être assez substantiels pour convaincre les producteurs de changer leurs pratiques actuelles
  3. pour que la technologie diffuse, les coûts encourus doivent être au niveau du producteur
  4. l'introduction de l'AC doit être accompagnée et suivie par un service d'appui - conseil sur période assez longue
L'agriculteur qui adopte l'AC peut rencontrer diverses difficultés notamment au niveau du pouvoir d'achat, l'accès au crédit et à l'information ; faible réseau de communication avec les marchés d'intrants et de produits. A cet égard, la disponibilité des intrants en quantité suffisante et au moment opportun peuvent être des facteurs importants du processus d'adoption/adaptation.
(2) FAO, 2005. Conservation agriculture for soil moisture. Briefing notes: Production systems management, Rome. FAO. 4 p.
Gérer les changements dans la gestion des intrants
En principe, le coût de certains intrants (exemple : achat des semences) ne devrait pas être différent entre les systèmes d'AC et d'agriculture traditionnelle. Mais des variations sont souvent observées et peuvent s'expliquer par :
  • Avec l'AC les quantités de semences utilisées sont moindres parce que les pertes en champs sont réduites. Mais, quelques fois, les besoins en semences peuvent être plus grands parce que les densités de semis en AC sont optimales et peuvent être plus élevés que dans le système traditionnel. En fait, les quantités de semences utilisées sont pratiquement les mêmes.
  • Les plantes de couverture jouent un rôle important dans l'AC. Si leurs semences ne sont pas produites par l'agriculteur lui-même, il devra les acheter
  • Comme pour les semences, le coûts des fertilisants sont initialement les mêmes en agriculture traditionnelle qu'en AC. Toutefois, au fur et à mesure que la matière organique du sol augmente sous AC, la fertilité et l'humidité du sol augmentent aussi. Ces deux facteurs contribuent à améliorer l'efficacité des fertilisants, ce qui va induire à long terme une réduction des quantités d'engrais.
  • Les agriculteurs qui ont l'habitude d'utiliser les herbicides sous agriculture conventionnelle pourront continuer à le faire avec l'AC. Plusieurs résultats montrent qu'avec l'AC, les dépenses pour l'achat des herbicides diminuent au fil du temps à mesure que la couverture permanente du sol joue sa fonction de contrôle de l'enherbement. Les herbicides sont importants, mais les producteurs pratiquant le labour traditionnel utilisent des quantités d'herbicides similaires à celles des agriculteurs qui ne pratiquent pas le travail du sol.
Les producteurs qui n'ont jamais utilisé les herbicides soit pour non disponibilité ou à cause du prix élevé, seraient plus enclins à adopter des pratiques alternatives de contrôle de l'enherbement comme l'utilisation du rouleau à lames par exemple.

Quand l'AC est pratiquée correctement, la charge et les attaques des pestes et ravageurs seront réduites comparativement à l'agriculture traditionnelle. Cette réduction est liée à la pratique des rotations culturales et la mise en place des plantes de couverture. Au final, les dépenses pour les traitements pesticides sont considérablement diminuées.

La main d'ouvre. L'impact positif de l'AC sur la distribution des besoins en main d'ouvre pendant la campagne agricole, mieux, la réduction des besoins en main d'ouvre est l'une des principales raisons qui ont motivé l'adoption de l'AC en Amérique latine, et plus particulièrement pour les producteurs qui utilisent essentiellement la main d'ouvre familiale.

Outre la réduction des temps de travaux, la mise en oeuvre pratiques d'AC permet de diminuer le nombre d'opérations culturales nécessaires pour la conduite de la campagne agricole, comme le montre l'exemple présenté dans le tableau 1.

Tableau 1. - Opérations mécanisées et temps de travaux (heures /ha) pour sous différents systèmes de production du haricot au Brésil
Opération
Agriculture de conservation
Agriculture conventionnelle
Passage du rouleau à lames
0.89
-
Semis direct
0.76
-
Traitement herbicide
1.2
0.6
Récolte
0.93
0.93
Labour / pulvériseur
-
1.37
Hersage
-
1.38
Semis 'traditionnel'
-
0.89
Billonnage
-
1
Total
3.78
6.17


Particulièrement dans les zones où la main d'oeuvre familiale devient limitante à cause des migrations, du VIH/Sida etc. l'AC pourrait être une alternative pour les agriculteurs. La réduction des besoins en main d'ouvre permet de :
  • D'augmenter les superficies cultivées
  • De mener des activités/travaux hors exploitation
  • Diversifier les activités, y compris la transformation des produits agricoles
  • Réduire les superficies cultivées en raison des rendements élevées ; permettre la récupération des zones marginales
Le tableau 2 présente un exemple des besoins en temps de travail pour les opérations de préparation du sol en utilisant la traction animale et motorisée. En particulier, l'illustration montre dans le cas de la traction animale, une réduction du travail pouvant atteindre 86%. Le temps nécessaire pour préparer le sol en utilisant le tracteur est réduit de 58% sous AC.

Tableau 2. Temps nécessaires pour la préparation du sol en agriculture traditionnelle et en AC.


Machinerie et équipements
Dans la majorité d'exploitations où l'AC est pratiquée, le nombre d'interventions sur la parcelle est moindre. Les producteurs n'ont donc pas besoin d'un grand équipement. Les coûts dépenses pour la main d'ouvre et le carburant sont minimisées. Par ailleurs, le nombre d'outils est réduit, la charrue et les herses ne sont plus nécessaires. Dans le cas de la motorisation, on peut utiliser des tracteurs de faible puissance : le labour nécessite un tracteur plus lourd/puissant comparativement au semis ou à la pulvérisation des pesticides.

De même, dans les systèmes avec culture attelée, le nombre d'animaux de trait nécessaire diminue. On peut utiliser des espèces autres que les bovins, une paire d'ânes pourrait suffire.

Un nombre réduit d'opérations signifie peu d'utilisation et moins de dégradation des équipements, qui auront ainsi une durée de vie plus longue et vont engendrer moins de dépenses en frais de maintenance ou de réparation.

Le tableau 3 donne un exemple de comparaison des coûts d'entretien des équipements et d'achats du carburant pour la production du soja et du maïs. Le coût de la chaux et des fertilisants, des insecticides, des herbicides et de transport interne ne sont pas pris en compte dans les calculs, parce qu'il ne présente pas de différences significatives entre les deux systèmes.

Tableau 3 - Estimation des coûts pour la machinerie et le carburant dans la production de maïs et de soja au Brésil


Un fait marquant récent et signe de l'intérêt grandissant que les agriculteurs accordent à l'AC est l'adoption de cette nouvelle forme d'agriculture par les riziculteurs d'Asie du Sud- Est. En Indonésie, les petits exploitants agricoles économisent 25 % des temps de travail, 65 % des temps nécessaires pour la préparation du sol, 28% dans l'irrigation par campagne agricole et, 2 à 3 semaines de travail en moins pour les opérations de préparation des terres. Dans la préparation traditionnelle des paddies, 30% de l'eau est utilisée pour les travaux de labour et de formation des flaques. Au cours de ces opérations, une partie importante de cette eau est perdue lors du transport dans les canaux, causant ainsi des pollutions. Les petits exploitants Indonésiens doivent souvent louer l'équipement de labour, et puisqu'il y a peu de propriétaires, beaucoup de producteurs ne parviennent pas à respecter le calendrier cultural. Avec les 2 - 3 semaines de gain de temps réalisé sur les opérations de préparation du sol, l'AC pourrait aider à passer de la situation actuelle d'une seule campagne agricole par an à la double voire la triple culture (trois séquences / an). De telles évolutions s'observent aux Philippines, à Thaïlande et en Inde. En Corée du Nord, l'AC a offre aux producteurs la possibilité de réaliser le semis direct du riz, réduisant ainsi la période d'inter-culture souvent nécessaire avec pour le labour.

Les rendements
Les rendements obtenus avec l'AC sont généralement égaux sinon supérieurs à ceux de l'agriculture conventionnelle basée sur le labour (Figure 2). Toutefois, cette tendance ne doit pas être exagérée, car comme le présente la figure 1, les rendements pourraient chuter pendant les premières années d'adoption de l'AC et ne dépasseront ceux de l'agriculture conventionnelle qu'une fois que le système d'AC s'est stabilisé. Dans toutes les situations, on doit d'abord utiliser et privilégier les données locales par rapport aux références générales.


Figure 3.
Rendements du blé, soja et maïs sous agriculture traditionnelle et sous AC (moyenne sur une période de 8 ans) au Brésil.


Séquestration du carbone
L'AC présente de nombreux avantages sur le plan environnemental. Parfois, ces avantages ne sont pas perçus directement au niveau de l'agriculteur. Entre autres, on peut évoquer : débits de cours d'eau plus réguliers ; réduction de l'érosion ; pas d'envasement des infrastructures et aménagements hydrauliques et hydro-électriques ; des infrastructures routières moins dégradées ; diminution des coûts de traitement des eaux domestiques etc.
Planche 1.
Les eaux littorales sont souvent le siège des dépôts sédimentaires, l'activité des pêcheurs locaux est sérieusement compromise. FAO

Toutefois, le rôle de l'AC dans la séquestration du carbone est de plus en plus reconnu. Les études montrent que le potentiel total de séquestration du carbone grâce à l'agriculture équivaut à environ 40% des augmentations annuelles des émissions de CO2 (3). Les pratiques d'AC qui permettent la séquestration du carbone contribuent à l'amélioration de la qualité de l'environnement et au développement des systèmes de production agricoles durables.
L'impact d'une large adoption de l'AC sur la réduction des émissions des gaz à effets de serre et le changement climatique en général est en train d'être évalué. L'avènement des payements des crédits de carbone aux agriculteurs est considéré avec beaucoup d'intérêt et pourrait aboutir à terme à des bénéfices financiers plus importants pour les producteurs qui adoptent l'AC.
(3) Robbins, M. 2004. Carbon trading, agriculture and poverty. Bangkok, Thailand. World Association of Soil and Water Conservation (WASWC). Special publication 2. 48 p.



Questions? Ecrivez au webmaître                                                                                      © FAO 2014

FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS - helping to build a world without hunger
FAO

Economic aspects of Conservation Agriculture (1)
Adoption of Conservation Agriculture
Unfortunately, short-term solutions and immediate benefits always attract farmers and the full technical and economic advantages of conservation agriculture can be seen only in the medium- long-term run, when its principles (no-tillage, permanent cover crop and crop rotation) are well established within the farming system.

In fact, if the two systems (conventional and conservation agriculture) are applied in two plots with the same agro-ecological and fertility conditions, no great differences in productivity during the first years are to be expected. However, after cultivating the same crops in the same areas for several years, the differences between the two systems become more evident.

CA requires a new way of thinking from all concerned. Along with this "new way of thinking agriculture", there is already enough technical and agronomic evidence that could positively influence farmers contemplating the adoption of CA principles. It is, however, important to demonstrate to farmers that the technical and agronomic aspects are directly related to the management and economic ones and, therefore, any technical and agronomic improvements obtained by applying CA principles need to be quantified in monetary and economic terms.

Before analysing the farm management and economic aspects of CA, it is illuminating to divide the adoption/adaptation process into four theoretical phases. This theoretical division, represented in Figure 1, facilitates the reasoning when analysing the farm activities and the impacts of new technologies in the production process.
  • First Phase - Improvement of tillage techniques: During this first phase, no increase in farm output is foreseen. But decreases in: labour; time; draught animal or motorised power (reduction of production costs) would occur. An increase in agro-chemical use, especially to control weeds might be required. Furthermore, there may be an increase in family expenses to compensate a probable (but not certain!) reduction of production in comparison with the conventional agriculture;
  • Second Phase - Improvement of soil conditions and fertility. Decreases in labour, time and draught animal and motorised power (reduction of production costs). Increases in yields and consequently increase in net farm income;
  • Third Phase - Diversification of cropping pattern. Increased and more stable yields. Increased net farm income and soil fertility.
  • Fourth Phase - The integrated farming system is functioning smoothly. Stability in production and productivity. The full technical and economic advantages of conservation agriculture can be appreciated by the farmer.

(1)The majority of these notes are based on information extracted from:
FAO. 2004. Conservation of natural resources for sustainable agriculture: training modules. FAO Land and Water Digital Media Series CD-ROM 27. FAO, Rome. Original references are given in the CD-ROM.

Figure 1. The transition phases of CA adoption


Technological changes
Because of the opportunities for increased outputs, reduction in production costs and higher income levels which a technological change to CA can offer, it is useful to take into consideration the process of adoption / adaptation and diffusion of technical innovations. The economic potential of conservation agriculture, in terms of costs of production, profit, yield, soil conservation, etc. is very important. However, unfamiliarity with conservation agriculture practices might make the initial impact on yield and input usage uncertain. It should not be forgotten that the adoption / adaptation decision must take place in an uncertain environment (subject to the vagaries of nature and the market). Farmers' attitudes to risk and, in particular, their strategies for risk aversion must also be taken into consideration.

There are four requirements (2) for the adoption of CA practices:
  1. It must bring the farmer a visible and immediate benefit, economic or otherwise.
  2. The benefit must be substantial enough to convince the farmers to change their ongoing practices.
  3. For the technology to be disseminated, the costs incurred must be able to be covered by the farmer.
  4. The introduction of CA should be followed up by an extension service for a long period of time.
The potential conservation agriculture adopter / adapter may be confronted with constraints in terms of purchasing power; access to credit and information; and poor communications links with product and input markets. In this regard, the availability of inputs in the quantity and at the time required may prove to be important considerations in the adoption / adaptation process.
(2) FAO, 2005. Conservation agriculture for soil moisture. Briefing notes: Production systems management, Rome. FAO. 4 p.
Managing changes in input use
In principle, the cost of some inputs (e.g. for seed purchase) should not differ in conservation agriculture compared to conventional tillage. However, differences are often observed and can be explained through:
  • In conservation agriculture less seed is needed because the losses in the field are reduced. However, sometimes more seed is needed because the plant density in conservation agriculture is optimal and might be higher than under traditional dibble stick planting. So, in effect, seed use remains about the same.
  • In conservation agriculture cover crops play an important role and if the seeds for cover crops are not produced on-farm, the farmer needs to buy them elsewhere.
  • As with the cost of seeds, fertilizer costs are initially considered to be the same under conservation agriculture compared to conventional tillage. However, as the organic matter of the soil increases under conservation agriculture, so will the soil fertility and moisture content. Both aspects lead to an increased fertilizer efficiency, which will reduce fertilizer need in the long run.
  • Farmers who are used to applying herbicides under conventional system will also use them under conservation agriculture. Experience shows that in these cases herbicide costs will reduce over time as the permanent soil cover exerts its weed-controlling function. Herbicides are important, but farmers using conventional tillage methods use similar amounts of herbicides as no-tillage farmers.
Those farmers, who have never used herbicides because they are simply not available or very expensive, are likely to adopt alternative practices for weed control, like the use of knife rollers.

When conservation agriculture is practised correctly, pest and disease incidence will be lower compared to conventional tillage due to crop rotation and the use of cover crops. Consequently, the cost for treatment will also be reduced.

Labour The positive impact of conservation agriculture on the distribution of labour during the production cycle and, even more important, the reduction in labour requirement is the main reason for the adoption of CA in Latin America, especially for farmers who rely fully on family labour.

Besides the reduction in the total time required, conservation agriculture techniques would also reduce the number of activities needed for the production cycle, as shown in the example in Table 1.

Table 1. - Mechanised operations and the time required (hours/ha) for each of them under different bean production systems in Brazil.
Operation
Conservation agriculture
Conventional tillage
Knife roller
0.89
-
Direct seeding
0.76
-
Spraying
1.2
0.6
Harvest
0.93
0.93
Ploughing/disking
-
1.37
Levelling
-
1.38
Conventional planting
-
0.89
Ridging
-
1
Total
3.78
6.17


Especially in areas where family labour is becoming a constraint, because of migration, HIV-Aids, etc., conservation agriculture could be a good option for farmers. The reduction in on-farm labour requirement allows farmers to:
  • Extend the cultivated area.
  • Hire themselves out in off-farm employment.
  • Diversify their activities, including processing of agricultural products.
  • Reduce the cultivated area due to increased yields and allow more marginal areas to recuperate.
Table 2 gives an example of a simple overview of the labour requirements, using animal and motorised traction in land preparation activities. In particular, the illustration shows in the case of animal traction, the reduction in labour can reach as much as 86%. The time required to prepare the land using a tractor is reduced by 58% under conservation agriculture.

Table 2. The time requirements for land preparation activities under conventional tillage and conservation agriculture (hours/ha).


Machinery and Equipment
In the majority of the farms where conservation agriculture is practised, fewer operations are executed in the field. For this reason farmers need less equipment and the costs of both labour (see above) and fuel are reduced. In addition, the number of implements can be reduced; ploughs and harrows are no longer required. In the case of tractor-powered farming, the size of the tractor can also be reduced: for ploughing a heavier tractor is needed compared to direct seeding and spraying.

Likewise, in animal draught systems, fewer animals are needed, or different types of animals can be used: instead of one pair of oxen, a pair of donkeys might be sufficient.

Fewer field operations result in less wear and tear of the equipment, which in turn will have a longer life span and the costs for maintenance and repair are reduced considerably.

Table 3 gives one example of an estimation of machinery and fuel costs for soya and maize crops under conventional tillage and conservation agriculture. The costs for lime and fertilizer application, insecticide spraying, harvest and internal transport are not included in the calculation, as they did not differ between the two systems.

Table 3 - Estimation of costs for machinery and fuel in a maize soybean rotation in Brazil.


One interesting and indicative recent development has been the response of rice farmers to conservation agriculture in Southeast Asia. Small holder farmers in Indonesia are realizing 25 percent savings in labour, 65 percent savings in land preparation costs, 28 percent savings in irrigation water per cropping cycle and 2-3 weeks time saving for land preparation. In conventional preparation of paddies, 30 percent of the water is used in the ploughing and puddling process. A substantial amount of this water is lost into the canals during this process resulting in soil and water loss and water pollution. The small farmers in Indonesia rent the equipment to plough and as availability is limited they often have to wait, sometimes missing a cropping cycle. Together with the 2-3 weeks real savings in time to prepare the land for planting conservation agriculture will help move production from the current average of 1.4 crops per year towards a realizable two or even three crops a year. Similar results are being observed in the Philippines, Thailand and India. In North Korea, CA has opened up the possibility of direct seeding rice in order to reduce the inter-crop necessitated by the ploughing and puddling requirement.

Crop yields
In general, conservation agriculture can produce equivalent or higher yields compared to conventional tillage systems (Figure 2). However this trend should not be exaggerated. As we saw in Figure 1, crop yields may fall in the initial phases of CA adoption, and will only rise above conventional tillage figures when the CA system has stabilised. Wherever possible local information should be used and preferred to generalised data.


FIGURE 2
Wheat, soy bean and maize yields under conventional tillage and conservation agriculture (averages over a period over 8 years). Brazil


Carbon sequestration
CA does, of course, provide many environmental benefits that may not be of direct interest to the farmer. Here, for example, we are thinking about streams and rivers running free of eroded soil and so not silting up reservoirs or damaging hydro-electric generating turbines. Another major benefit is the reduction of damage done to roads and, indeed marine environments, by reducing runoff and erosion; to say nothing of the costs of domestic water purification.
PLATE 1
Off-site effect of soil erosion: coastal waters are polluted with sediment, posing a problem for local fishermen.
(FAO).

However, CA is currently receiving global focus for its carbon sequestration potential. It has been calculated that the total potential for soil carbon sequestration by agriculture could offset about 40% of the estimated annual increase in CO2 emissions (3). CA practices that sequester soil organic matter contribute to environmental quality and the development of sustainable agricultural systems. The significance of CA adoption to the amelioration of effects of greenhouse gas emissions on global climate change is now being evaluated. The emergence of carbon credit payments for CA farmers is being considered seriously and could result in a further financial benefit to CA adopters.
(3) Robbins, M. 2004. Carbon trading, agriculture and poverty. Bangkok, Thailand. World Association of Soil and Water Conservation (WASWC). Special publication 2. 48 p.



Questions? Please write to the Webmaster                                                                                     © FAO 2014