Agronoticias: Agriculture News from Latin America and the Caribbean

Southern Cone


Uruguay extends the agricultural emergency due to drought to 14 departments

The affected producers will be able to access the interest-free credit announced by the Ministry at the end of February.

A man sitting in the fields

The Uruguayan government extended the declaration of agricultural emergency due to drought announced on February 28 to 7 other departments, for a total 14, as reported by the Uruguayan Ministry of Livestock, Agriculture and Fisheries (MGAP according to its acronym in Spanish).

In addition to the departments of northern Uruguay that were initially included (Artigas, Salto, Paysandú, Rivera, Tacuarembó, Río Negro, and Durazno), the departments of Cerro Largo, Colonia, Flores, Florida, Rocha, Soriano, and Treinta y Tres were also included.

This was announced at a press conference on Tuesday by Enzo Benech, the head of MGAP, who said that their office "is acting as quickly as possible" and that the economic losses due to the drought have yet to be calculated.

Please note that this article was not originally written in this language.
This article is incomplete. Click here to read the full text from its original source, EFE
Photo Credit: CC0 Creative Commons

Share this page