General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean - GFCM

Area of application

The GFCM is responsible for all marine waters of the Mediterranean and the Black Sea. 

Its area of application is divided into five subregions: the western, central and eastern Mediterranean, the Adriatic Sea and the Black Sea. These subregions are then divided into 30 geographical subareas (GSAs).

GFCM subregional technical units

The GFCM is taking a subregional approach to achieve sustainable fisheries and aquaculture development in the Mediterranean and Black Sea.

Five technical units are currently being established to cover each GFCM subregion: in Bulgaria for the Black Sea, in Croatia for the Adriatic Sea, in Lebanon for the eastern Mediterranean, in Spain for the western Mediterranean and in Tunisia for the central Mediterranean.

The technical units promote cooperation and facilitate dialogue on major issues and cross-border challenges, taking into account the particular needs and characteristics of each subregion. In practical terms, the units provide strategic and technical assistance to help countries effectively meet their commitments to the GFCM.