Eurasian Economic Union restricts buckwheat exports until 31 August 2021


On 16 June 2021, the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission enforced restrictions on buckwheat exports to countries outside the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), introducing a temporary ban on exports from Armenia, Belarus and Kyrgyzstan and setting a 4 200 tonnes quota on shipments from Kazakhstan. The measure, which will expire on 31 August 2021, aims to guarantee adequate availabilities of buckwheat and buckwheat products in the domestic markets and prevent price increases for this staple foodstuff.

In Belarus, grain exports towards countries inside and outside the EAEU, including buckwheat shipments, had already been suspended for a period of three months, starting 15 April. With the latest measure, the ban on buckwheat exports to countries outside the EAEU has been extended until 31 August 2021.

On 30 April 2021, a ban on exports of unprocessed buckwheat, coarsely ground buckwheat groats and crushed buckwheat grain was also enforced in the Russian Federation, with effect until 31 August 2021 (FPMA Food Policy).