FAO in Pakistan

Our Office

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is one of the United Nations institutions. Founded in 1945, FAO is governed by the Conference of Member Nations which meets every two years to review the work carried out by the organization and approve a Programme of Work and Budget for the next two years. With its headquarters in Rome, FAO has 191 Member Nations, two Associate Members and one Member Organization (the European Union).

FAO serves its member countries by bringing technical knowledge to the field; developing and introducing agricultural practices, policies and strategies; protecting and helping rebuild rural livelihoods in crises and providing a forum to discuss important issues for building common understanding among member countries.

FAO Strategic Objectives:

• Help eliminate hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition

• Make agriculture more productive and sustainable

• Reduce rural poverty

• Ensure inclusive and efficient agricultural and food systems

• Protect livelihoods from disasters.

During the first years of its operations in Pakistan, FAO assisted the Government of Pakistan in building and strengthening the national agriculture infrastructure with the emphasis on irrigation – the lifeline of country’s agriculture system. In the decades to follow, FAO focused its efforts on poverty reduction, food security, sustainable livelihoods and rural development. It has partnered with the Government of Pakistan on research and development, training, extension services and strengthening of the staff capacity in planning and policy making. FAO has supported improvements in agricultural policy analysis, strengthened institutions. Enhanced integrated area development and expanded participation of marginalized and vulnerable communities in sustainable development.

Over the past decade alone, FAO has implemented more than USD 293 million worth of projects (including emergency) in Pakistan, as well as carried out USD 82.41 million worth of regional projects which have benefitted Pakistan. FAO projects are funded by the organization’s own funds, bilateral and multi-lateral aid agencies and governments including the Government of Pakistan.