Food-based dietary guidelines

Food-based dietary guidelines - Poland

Official name

Principles of healthy eating (Polish: Zasady zdrowego żywienia).

Publication year

Poland published the second version of its dietary guidelines in 2010. The first version, for children and adolescents, was published in 2009.

Process and stakeholders

The principles of healthy eating were developed and endorsed by the National Food and Nutrition Institute in collaboration with the Ministry of Health.

Intended audience

Poland has two sets of guidelines, one for the general adult population and another set aimed at school-aged children and adolescents.

Food guide

Poland’s food guide is the ‘Pyramid of healthy nutrition’. The pyramid is divided into six levels representing six food groups. Cereals are found at the base; vegetables and tubers on the second level; fruits on the third level followed by milk and dairy products, meat, fish, eggs and beans. Oil is at the top of the pyramid. A beverage group (represented by water) and images of physical activity are placed outside of the pyramid.

Poland has also developed a pyramid for children and adolescents, almost identical to the one for the general population. The only difference is that there is an explicit recommendation to avoid table salt.


  • Take care to eat a variety of foods.
  • Beware of weight gain and obesity; don’t forget about physical activity every day.
  • Cereal products should be your principal source of calories.
  • Drink at least two large glasses of milk a day. Milk could be substituted by yoghurt, kefir and some cheese.
  • Eat meat in moderation.
  • Eat a lot of vegetables and fruits every day.
  • Limit intake of visible fats, particularly animal ones, and also other products rich in cholesterol and trans fatty acids.
  • Moderate your intake of sugar and sweets.
  • Limit salt intake.
  • Drink enough water.
  • Do not drink alcohol.

Share this page