Food-based dietary guidelines

Food-based dietary guidelines - Paraguay

Official name

Dietary guidelines of Paraguay (Guías Alimentarias del Paraguay)

Dietary guidelines for children 2 years and younger.

Publication year

Paraguay published its first set of dietary guidelines in 1999. The guidelines for the general public (people 2 years and older) were revised in 2013. A second version was released in 2015.

Process and stakeholders

The revision process of the guidelines was led by the National Dietary Guidelines Technical Committee, under the coordination and supervision of the National Institute for Food and Nutrition and the Ministry of Public Health and Social Welfare. FAO and the Panamerican Health Organization provided technical assistance.

Intended audience

Paraguay has two sets of guidelines, one for the general public (2 years and older) and another one for children 2 years and younger.

Food guide

The food guide is represented by a pot divided into seven parts. The size of each segment reflects the proportion that the food group should contribute to total daily diet. In addition, a colour code is used to indicate which foods should be eaten in higher or lesser quantities. The green colour represents foods that should be eaten in higher quantities and includes grains, tubers, fruits and vegetables. The yellow colour represents foods that should be eaten in moderation, such as milk and dairy products, meat, legumes and eggs. The red colour represents foods that should be eaten only in small quantities such as added sugar, honey, oils and fats.

Two additional recommendations are given outside of the pot: drink water and do physical activity.


  • To have a healthy diet, eat from all 7 food groups (cereals, tubers and derived products; fruits; vegetables; milk and dairy products; meats, legumes and eggs; sugars and honey; fats and oils) every day.
  • Eat raw and cooked vegetables at lunch and dinner every day to be healthy.
  • Eat three seasonal fruits daily because they have vitamins and fiber.
  • Eat cereals and legumes 2 times a week because together they are more nutritious.
  • Increase your daily intake of dairy products to 2 cups of milk or yogurt and 1 slice of cheese to maintain strong bones and teeth.
  • it is healthy to eat different types of lean meats, no more than 4 times a week.
  • Decrease your consumption of fats and fried foods to protect your heart.
  • Use small quantities of iodized salt when preparing your meals to prevent high blood pressure.
  • Eat less carbonated beverages and artificial juices because they damage your health.
  • Avoid alcoholic beverages because they are harmful to your health and can cause accidents.
  • Drink at least 8 glasses of water throughout the day for the proper functioning of your body.
  • Do 30-60 minutes of physical activity every day for your overall well-being.

Share this page