Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS)

Agricultural heritage around the world

The Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS) represent not only stunning natural landscapes but also agricultural practices that create livelihoods in rural areas while combining biodiversity, resilient ecosystems and tradition and innovation in a unique way.

Since 2005, FAO has designated 86 systems in 26 countries as agricultural heritage sites, and currently, 10 new proposals from 6 different countries were received.

Take a moment to check the list by region and country of our global agricultural heritage sites. Don't miss visiting each designated system's dedicated webpage to discover more information, photos, videos, news, and stories.

> See the full list of GIAHS 

Agricultural heritage systems by region


and the Pacific

and Central Asia

Latin America
and the Caribbean

Near East
and North Africa

View of the designated and proposed sites around the world

Designated sites

Proposed sites

Disclaimer: “The designations employed and the presentation of material in the GIAHS site do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or development status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. The final status of Jammu and Kashmir has not been agreed upon by the parties.”