Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS)

Asia and the Pacific: Countries and Territories

In this region, 57 agriculture heritage systems were designated so far in 8 countries and one territory: one in Bangladesh, 22 in China, 2 in India, 6 in Iran, 15 in Japan, one in the Philippines and 7 in the Republic of Korea, one in Sri Lanka, one in Thailand and one in the Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Additionally, there are 10 proposals submitted to become GIAHS sites from 4 different countries.

To view the list of designated and proposed systems per country, click on the photo. Don't miss visiting each designated system's dedicated webpages to discover more information, photos, videos, news, and stories.



Proposed sites

Salak Agroforestry System in Karangasem, Bali

Jammu and Kashmir


Designated sites

Ifugao Rice Terraces


Disclaimer“The designations employed and the presentation of material in the GIAHS site do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or development status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. The final status of Jammu and Kashmir has not been agreed upon by the Republic of India and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.”