Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS)

The Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS) are agroecosystems inhabited by communities that live in an intricate relationship with their territory. These evolving sites are resilient systems characterized by remarkable agrobiodiversity, traditional knowledge, invaluable cultures and landscapes, sustainably managed by farmers, herders, fisherfolk, and forest people in ways that contribute to their livelihoods and food security. Through the Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems Programme, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations has designated over 60 sites around the world. Read more

Join us for the 2023 GIAHS Certificate Award Ceremony

Engaresero Maasai Pastoralist Heritage Area, Tanzania

Dong’s Rice Fish Duck System, China

Andean Agriculture, Peru

Shimbwe Juu Kihamba Agro-forestry Heritage Site, Tanzania

Ghout Oasis system El Oued, Algeria

Chiloé Agriculture, Chile

Sado’s Satoyama in Harmony with Japanese Crested Ibis, Japan

Noto's Satoyama and Satoumi, Japan

Oldonyonokie/Olkeri Maasai Pastoralist Heritage, Kenya

Oases System in Atlas Mountains, Morocco

Ifugao Rice Terraces, Philippines

Gafsa Oases, Tunisia


With the support of