FAO Regional Office for Near East and North Africa

Near East Forestry and Range Commission (NEFRC)


Established by the Conference at its Seventh Session (1953) as a result of a resolution of the FAO Amman (Jordan) Forestry Conference in 1952.


  • To provide a policy and technical forum for the countries of the Near East to discuss and address forest issues on a regional basis. Drawing on regional experiences, it also provides advice to the FAO forestry programme
  • To advise on the formulation of forest policy and to review and coordinate its implementation at the regional level; to exchange information and, generally through special Subsidiary Bodies, advise on suitable practices and action in regard to technical and economic problems; and to make appropriate recommendations in relation to the foregoing.


Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members whose territories are situated wholly or in part in the Near East Region, or who are responsible for the international relations of any non-self-governing territories in the Region. 

Membership comprises such eligible Nations as have notified the Director-General of their desire to be considered as Members.

Current members are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Mauritania, Morocco, Palestine, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uzbekistan and Yemen.

Upcoming Session
  • 27th session of the Near East Forestry and Range Commission
Session reports
Fidaa Haddad
Senior Programme Officer, Forestry