Governance of Tenure

Raising awareness of the Voluntary Guidelines

Increased awareness is a first step to using the Voluntary Guidelines to improve the governance of tenure. It includes an exchange of information on tenure to ensure that groups and individuals have secure and equitable access to land, fisheries and forests. Awareness raising is a continuous process that is vital in ensuring that at regional, country and district level, governments, civil society organizations and other stakeholders know about the Voluntary Guidelines and how they can be used in the drafting and implementation of new policies and laws, in addressing conflicts, and many other contexts.  

Regional level

Following the endorsement of the Voluntary Guidelines in 2012, a series of regional workshops provided an opportunity for over 600 people from 140 countries to learn about the Voluntary Guidelines. Workshops were held in Africa (Cameroon, Rwanda), Asia and Pacific (Thailand, Fiji), Europe and Central Asia (Bulgaria, Ukraine), Latin America and the Caribbean (Colombia, Guyana) and the Near East (Jordan, Morocco and the United Arab Emirates).


Country level

Awareness raising workshops in countries look in more detail at national contexts, ensuring governments, local authorities and other stakeholders share experiences of their tenure systems. During the workshops participants gain a better understanding of how, when necessary improvements that can be made to these systems and the type of support available. In a number of countries, the workshops led to the establishment of national platforms and the capacity development of government officials, local authorities, universities and Civil Society Organizations.

Workshops have been held in: 

Africa: Benin, Central Africa Republic, Gabon, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao-Tomé-Et-Principe, Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Uganda.

Asia: China, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Madagascar, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan.

Europe: Albania, Armenia, Georgia, Moldova, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, North Macedonia. 

Latin America: Colombia, Guatemala, Paraguay, Peru. 

Near East: Iran, Tunisia.