AGRIS中心—摩尔多瓦共和国

此文件概述了摩尔多瓦共和国食品和农业科技现状和AGRIS在其中起到的作用,以及AGRIS 枢纽在摩尔多瓦共和国开展其工作的经验。

摩尔多瓦共和国粮食和农业科学状况

摩尔多瓦共和国教育、文化和研究部负责制定研究和创新的政策框架。研究和开发基础设施有助于发展农业领域的科学活动和创新,包括本国的一些农业研发机构和中心:摩尔多瓦科学院生命科学部;摩尔多瓦国立农业大学;六个专业科研机构;农业试验站;卓越中心;科学、技术-科学和技术创新园区;企业孵化器;研究中心及其科学实验室(国家统计局,2021)。 

摩尔多瓦国立农业大学共和国农业科学图书馆

摩尔多瓦国立农业大学共和国农业科学图书馆是摩尔多瓦共和国的第一个大学图书馆,1933年与大学同时成立。自成立以来,图书馆和大学一直经历了相同的演变。图书馆周期性地受到社会、政治、经济和信息环境变化的影响,经历了重组和空间变化,积累了重要的文献收藏,不断实现活动现代化以及服务和产品多样化,积极融入大学社区,根据获得的国家和国际资质行使各种职能(摩尔多瓦国立农业大学,2021)。

该图书馆在国家图书馆系统中具有双重作用,既是大学图书馆,也是农业科学领域的国家信息中心。它也是国内研究机构和农业院校图书馆的方法中心。

在自身发展过程中,图书馆始终关注用户的重要性。用户,尤其是大学用户,一直是“主要角色”。对于用户,图书馆创建和开发了各种情境,以完成和更新馆藏;调整、扩大和改善其服务;并创造有效的信息产品,满足现有和潜在用户的教育、教学和研究需求。

AGRIS与摩尔多瓦国立农业大学共和国农业科学图书馆

与粮农组织的伙伴关系扩大了图书馆的工作领域。图书馆被赋予了新的国际责任。它成为了摩尔多瓦共和国粮农组织信息和文献中心、AGRIS网络中的摩尔多瓦共和国AGRIS中心、 国际农业图书馆网络的成员以及AGROVOC多语种词库罗马尼亚语译文的官方编辑(FAOd, 2021)。2000年以来,作为摩尔多瓦共和国的粮农组织托存图书馆和AGRIS中心,图书馆在全国推广粮农组织的信息资源。

2001年,该图书馆成为国际农业图书馆网络的成员,该组织成立的目的是共同合理地分享成员的信息资源,因为其成员会根据要求,为了用户的利益提供馆际互借服务。自2004年以来,图书馆履行了摩尔多瓦共和国AGRIS中心的职能,整合了该国出版的农业文件的元数据。作为AGRIS数据提供者,摩尔多瓦共和国的机构评价和选择这些出版物,利用AGROVOC的概念对其内容进行索引,并将其传入AGRIS数据库中进行整合。图1显示出2015年至2020年期间该国科学出版物的动态情况。

Scientific publications in Moldova

图1.摩尔多瓦共和国的科学出版物资料来源:摩尔多瓦科学院年度报告,2015-2020

图书馆的主要任务是为农业领域的教育、研究和生产过程提供信息和文献支持,并成为用户与信息之间的积极中介。图书馆于2007年加入AGROVOCAGRIS使用的一种索引工具)的国际编辑团体,负责翻译和调整AGROVOC的罗马尼亚语版本。一个由来自约150个国家的数百个数据提供者组成的网络正在为AGRIS做出贡献。为了完成对农业信息的发现具有直接影响的定性索引过程,需要该网络采取有力行动。在这方面,AGROVOC解决了参与国的数据库与AGRIS数据库的语言资源兼容问题,有助于所有AGRIS数据提供者对农业信息和数据进行标准化和统一的索引,并促进其互操作性和重复使用。

摩尔多瓦共和国的三个机构参与提供AGRIS数据:

AGRIS在摩尔多瓦共和国的相关性

由高水平信息直接决定的高效农业管理有助于减少贫困、提高营养水平、根据消费者需求增加产品的新价值、提高农业生产率和生活水平。科学信息已成为全球农业的重要来源,也是教育和研究过程的重要组成部分,同时也是创造和创新的重要因素。 

在这种情况下,有必要通过现代信息和通信系统高效管理和传播信息,如AGRIS,一个为获取信息提供机会的系统,既无费用也无限制,旨在改善对全球农业界的知识转移。摩尔多瓦共和国在21世纪初加入了国际AGRIS社区,贡献了大约5000条书目记录,其中1000多条有全文链接。AGRIS为摩尔多瓦共和国的农业机构提供了机会,使其成为一个有益的、充满活力的国际网络的一部分,并为在全球范围内推广摩尔多瓦的科学研究做出贡献。因此,摩尔多瓦共和国从开放和免费的服务中受益,其科学成果有可能通过AGRIS被发现并且不需要费用。AGRIS还为摩尔多瓦共和国农业信息消费者提供了从单一访问点到大量多语种信息资源进行搜索的机会,其中一些资源并不在任何国际数据库中(灰色文献、手稿、农业数据等)。 

AGRIS数据库中,由于信息是根据AGROVOC词库编制的索引,用户可以快速获得信息,并且信息具有充分的相关性和准确性。  当用户在AGRIS中搜索时,使用AGROVOC词库来获得指导和启发,选择关键词和替代词来表达一个概念或者扩大或缩小搜索范围。

AGRIS是为博士生研究生的研究课题发现相关信息的来源,并拥有全面的文献收藏。 

AGRIS - 推广摩尔多瓦共和国科研成果的一种方式 

AGRIS是在国际层面推广摩尔多瓦共和国科学成果的有效平台。因此,AGRIS将摩尔多瓦共和国的农业科学和研究向更广泛的受众开放,有助于更便捷地发现出版物、提高该国全球研究的知名度和摩尔多瓦作者的引用率。AGRIS响应了开放科学的新范式,成为生成、传播、应用和转化科学研究的一种方式。通过提供信息,AGRIS提高了信息的透明度和作者的责任感,增加了重新使用和共享农业信息及数据的可能性。由于科学研究不可能在国际上孤立地进行,扩大国际合作对摩尔多瓦共和国的研究人员而言是一个积极因素。AGRIS系统扩大了摩尔多瓦研究人员与其他国家相同或相关领域专家的交流,并改善了研究人员之间的科学知识转移。 

信息和数据对农业的发展非常重要。AGRIS改善了科学知识的流通、获取和转移,有助于评价农业、制定农业政策以及为农业和农村部门的发展制定适当的战略。同时,摩尔多瓦的农民在获得信息和数据后,可以了解其他国家的农民所面临的挑战,并找出解决其具体问题的方案。 

AGRIS - 国际农业图书馆网络服务的信息来源 

利用语义网和关联开放数据,AGRIS为研究人员带来了近期出版物的全文,同时也发挥聚合作用,便于检索许多没有统一资源标识符的出版物。研究人员在AGRIS中发现了许多有趣和重要的出版物,而这些出版物无法通过开放获取获得。在这种情况下,图书馆通过国际农业图书馆网络互相帮助,以获取在本国无法获得的文献。因此,AGRIS是国际农业图书馆网络服务的信息来源,并提供书目数据以及关于哪个国家和机构拥有特定出版物的信息。摩尔多瓦国立农业大学在国际农业图书馆网络系统内与来自各大洲38个国家的国际伙伴开展合作。在与伙伴图书馆的关系中,农业大学成为受益图书馆,从伙伴图书馆获得了3500多份借阅。作为供应图书馆,近年来,农业大学向12个国家提供了400多份文件。目前,国际农业图书馆网络不是非常活跃,但成员国继续根据要求免费向其他成员图书馆提供快速的馆际互借服务。 

下一步工作

为了提高人们对AGRIS利用情况的认识,提高摩尔多瓦共和国农业信息和数据的可及性和可见性,共和国农业科学图书馆团队计划开展以下活动: 

  • 提高摩尔多瓦共和国农业界在AGRIS方面的能力和认识,展示在AGRIS中编制索引的益处;  
  • 提高摩尔多瓦粮食和农业科学研究在国际上的知名度和可及性; 
  • 鼓励研究人员和机构不仅作为信息消费者,而且作为数据提供者使用AGRIS 
  • 增加提交AGRIS的记录数量 
  • 传播和推广有关AGRIS出版物和活动的信息。

参考文献

BNS. 2021. Activitatea de cercetare-dezvoltare în anul 2020. In: Biroul Național de Statistică al Republicii Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021].https://statistica.gov.md/newsview.php?l=ro&idc=168&id=6967

FAO. 2021a. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. www.fao.org/ home/en

FAO. 2021b. Sustainable Development Goals. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/en/

FAO. 2021c AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/

FAO. 2021d. AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/data-providers

FAO. 2021e. AGROVOC. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/

SAUM.2021. Universitatea Agrară de Stat din Moldova – State Agrarian University of Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021]. https://www.uasm.md/en

AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova

In this short document, the work and experience of the AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova is described, along with an overview of food and agricultural science and the role of AGRIS in the country.

Food and agricultural science in the Republic of Moldova

The Ministry of Education, Culture and Research of the Republic of Moldova is responsible for setting the policy framework for research and innovation. The research and development infrastructure, which contributes to the development of scientific activity and innovation in agriculture, includes several institutions and centres of agricultural research and development in the country: the Life Sciences Department of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova; the State Agrarian University of Moldova; six specialized scientific research institutions; experimental agricultural stations; centres of excellence; science, technical-scientific and technological innovation parks; business incubators; and research centres and their scientific laboratories (BNS, 2021).

The Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova

The Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova (RSAL SAUM) was the first university library in the Republic of Moldova. It was established simultaneously with the university in 1933. Since its foundation, the library and the university have evolved together. The library has been periodically influenced by the changes occurring in the social, political, economic and informational environment, going through reorganizations and changes of spaces, accumulating an important collection of documents, regularly modernizing its activity and diversifying its services and products, actively integrating itself in the university community and exercising various functions based on obtained national and international qualifications (SAUM, 2021).

The library has a dual role in the national system of libraries, both as a university library and as a national information centre in the field of agricultural sciences. It is also the methodological centre for the libraries of research institutions and agricultural colleges in the country.

Throughout its evolution, the library has continuously focused on the user. The user, especially the university user, has always been the “main actor.” For the users, the library has created and developed scenarios to complete and update the collection; to adapt, expand and improve its services; and to create effective information products in order to meet the educational, didactic and research requirements of real and potential users.

AGRIS and the Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova

The partnership with FAO has expanded the library’s areas of work. New international responsibilities were assigned to the library. It became the FAO Information and Documentation Centre in the Republic of Moldova, the AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova within the AGRIS network, a member of the International Network of Agricultural Libraries (AGLINET) and official editor of the AGROVOC multilingual thesaurus’ translation into Romanian (FAOd, 2021). Since 2000, due to its status as an FAO Depository Library in the Republic of Moldova and AGRIS Hub, the library has promoted FAO information resources in the country.

In 2001, the library became a member of AGLINET, established with the aim of sharing the information resources of the members jointly and systematically, as the latter provide, upon request, interlibrary loan services in the interest of and for the benefit of users. Fulfilling the functions of an AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova since 2004, the library integrates the metadata of documents on agriculture published in the country. As AGRIS data providers, the institutions of the Republic of Moldova evaluate and select these publications, index their contents with AGROVOC concepts and transmit them for integration in the AGRIS database. Figure 1 shows the dynamics of scientific publications in the country between 2015 and 2020.

Scientific publications in Moldova

Figure 1. Scientific publications in the Republic of Moldova. Source: Annual reports of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova, 2015-2020

The main mission of the library is to provide informational and documentary support for the process of education, research and production in the field of agriculture, and to be an active intermediary between users and information. Having joined the international community of editors of AGROVOC, an indexing tool and multilingual thesaurus used by AGRIS, the library translates and adapts AGROVOC in Romanian. A network of hundreds of data providers from about 150 countries contributes to AGRIS. In order to accomplish a qualitative indexing process, which has a direct impact on the discovery of agricultural information, considerable work is needed from the network. In this regard, AGROVOC solves the problem of the linguistic resources compatibility of the databases in the participating countries with the AGRIS database, contributing to the standardized and unitary indexing of agricultural information and data by all AGRIS data providers, and facilitating their interoperability and reuse.

Three institutions from the Republic of Moldova participate in the provision of AGRIS data:

Relevance of AGRIS in the Republic of Moldova

Efficient agricultural management, directly determined by high-level information, will contribute to poverty reduction, the raising of nutrition levels, adding new values to products depending on consumer demand, the improvement of agricultural productivity and the raising of living standards. Scientific information has become a vital source for global agriculture and an essential component of the educational and research process, as well as an important element for creativity and innovation.

In this context, it is necessary to efficiently manage and disseminate information through modern information and communication systems such as AGRIS – a system that opens opportunities for access to information at no cost or restriction in order to improve the transfer of knowledge to the global agricultural community. The Republic of Moldova joined the international AGRIS community in the early 2000s, contributing about 5 000 bibliographic records, over 1 000 of which have links to the full document texts. AGRIS offers agricultural institutions from the Republic of Moldova the opportunity to be part of an advantageous and dynamic international network and to contribute to the promotion of Moldovan scientific research globally. Thus, the Republic of Moldova benefits from an open and free service, with the benefit of having its scientific results be discovered through AGRIS. AGRIS also offers consumers of agricultural information from the Republic of Moldova opportunities to search, from a single access point, a multitude of multilingual information resources, some of which are not in any international database (grey literature, manuscripts, agricultural data, etc.).

In the AGRIS database, users can obtain information quickly, with relevance and accuracy due to the fact that the information is indexed based on the AGROVOC thesaurus. When users search in AGRIS, they use the AGROVOC thesaurus to guide and inspire them to select keywords and alternate words to express a concept or expand or narrow their search.

AGRIS is a source for discovering relevant information for PhD students' research topics, and has a comprehensive collection of documents.

AGRIS - a way to promote the results of scientific research from the Republic of Moldova

AGRIS is an efficient platform for promoting the scientific results from the Republic of Moldova at the international level. Thus, AGRIS opens agricultural science and research from the Republic of Moldova to a wider audience and contributes to the easier discovery of publications, increasing the visibility of the country’s global research and the citation rate of Moldovan authors. AGRIS responds to the new paradigm of Open Science as a way of producing, disseminating, applying and transforming scientific research. By making information available, it promotes greater transparency of information and authors’ responsibility, increasing the possibilities for re-use and the sharing of agricultural information and data. As scientific research cannot be conducted in international isolation, the expansion of international collaboration benefits researchers from the Republic of Moldova. The AGRIS system extends the communication of Moldovan researchers with specialists from other countries in the same or connected fields, and improves the transfer of scientific knowledge between researchers.

Information and data are very important for the development of agriculture. AGRIS improves the circulation of, access to and transfer of scientific knowledge, contributing to the evaluation of agriculture, the formulation of agricultural policies, and the development of appropriate strategies for the development of the agricultural and rural sectors. At the same time, Moldovan farmers, having access to information and data, can know the challenges faced by farmers in other countries and identify answers to their specific questions.

AGRIS - an information source for AGLINET services

Taking advantage of the Semantic Web and Linked Open Data, AGRIS not only links researchers to the full text of recent publications, but also serves as an aggregator for the retrieval of many publications without a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI). Researchers find in AGRIS many interesting and important publications that are not available via Open Access. In this case, through the AGLINET Network, libraries assist each other in acquiring literature that is not available in their own country. Therefore, AGRIS is an information source for AGLINET services and provides bibliographic data and information about which country and institution holds that specific publication. SAUM has collaborated within the AGLINET system with international partners from 38 countries in all continents. In relations with partner libraries, SAUM has the role of beneficiary library and has obtained over 3 500 loans from partner libraries. As a supplier library, it has delivered in recent years over 400 documents in 12 countries. Currently, the AGLINET network is not very active, but member countries continue to provide, without charge and upon request, fast interlibrary loan services to other member libraries.

Next steps

In order to increase awareness on the use of AGRIS and enhance the accessibility and visibility of agricultural information and data in the Republic of Moldova, the team of RSAL plans to implement the following activities:

  • increase capacity and awareness of AGRIS in the Republic of Moldova’s agricultural community to demonstrate the benefits of being indexed in AGRIS;
  • enhance visibility and access of Moldovan scientific research on food and agriculture internationally;
  • encourage researchers and institutions to use AGRIS not only as information consumers, but also as AGRIS data providers;
  • increase the number of records submitted to AGRIS; and
  • disseminate and promote information about AGRIS publications and events.

References

BNS. 2021. Activitatea de cercetare-dezvoltare în anul 2020. In: Biroul Național de Statistică al Republicii Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021].https://statistica.gov.md/newsview.php?l=ro&idc=168&id=6967

FAO. 2021a. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. www.fao.org/ home/en

FAO. 2021b. Sustainable Development Goals. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/en/

FAO. 2021c AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/

FAO. 2021d. AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/data-providers

FAO. 2021e. AGROVOC. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/

SAUM.2021. Universitatea Agrară de Stat din Moldova – State Agrarian University of Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021]. https://www.uasm.md/en