Plateformes nationales AGRIS – République de Moldova

On présente dans ce document succinct l’activité et l’expérience de la plateforme nationale AGRIS en République de Moldova, avec un aperçu des sciences alimentaires et agricoles et du rôle d’AGRIS dans le pays.

Les sciences alimentaires et agricoles en République de Moldova

The Ministry of Education, Culture and Research of the Republic of Moldova is responsible for setting the policy framework for research and innovation. The research and development infrastructure, which contributes to the development of scientific activity and innovation in agriculture, includes several institutions and centres of agricultural research and development in the country: the Life Sciences Department of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova; the State Agrarian University of Moldova; six specialized scientific research institutions; experimental agricultural stations; centres of excellence; science, technical-scientific and technological innovation parks; business incubators; and research centres and their scientific laboratories (BNS, 2021).

La Bibliothèque scientifique agricole de l’Université agraire d’État de Moldova

La Bibliothèque scientifique agricole de l’Université agraire de Moldova (RSAL SAUM) [site en roumain et en anglais] est la première bibliothèque universitaire de la République de Moldova, créée en même temps que l’Université en 1933. Depuis lors, la Bibliothèque et l’Université ont suivi la même évolution. La Bibliothèque a subi parfois le contre-coup des changements survenus dans l’environnement social, politique, économique et informationnel, avec des réorganisations et des déménagements, accumulant une importante collection de documents, modernisant régulièrement ses activités et diversifiant ses services et ses produits, s’intégrant activement dans la communauté universitaire et exerçant diverses fonctions selon les qualifications nationales et internationales acquises (SAUM, 2021).

La bibliothèque assume un rôle double dans le système national de bibliothèques, à la fois bibliothèque universitaire et centre national d’information pour les sciences agricoles. Elle est en outre le centre méthodologique pour les bibliothèques des instituts de recherche et des collèges agricoles du pays.

Tout au long de son évolution, la Bibliothèque s’est toujours concentrée sur l’importance des usagers. Ce sont eux, surtout les usagers universitaires, qui ont toujours « tenu le premier rôle ». C’est à leur intention que la Bibliothèque a créé et avancé des scénarios visant à compléter et actualiser ses collections, à s’adapter, à étendre et améliorer ses services et à créer des produits d’information efficaces propres à répondre aux besoins des usagers présents et potentiels, qu’il s’agisse d’éducation, de pédagogie ou de recherche.

AGRIS et la Bibliothèque scientifique agricole de l’Université agraire d’État de Moldova

Le partenariat conclu avec la FAO a élargi les domaines d’activité de la Bibliothèque. Elle s’est vu attribuer de nouvelles responsabilités internationales : elle est devenue le Centre d’information et de documentation de la FAO en République de Moldova, la plateforme nationale AGRIS de Moldova dans le réseau AGRIS, membre du Réseau international de bibliothèques agricoles (AGLINET) [site en anglais] et éditeur officiel de la traduction en roumain du thésaurus multilingue AGROVOC (FAOd, 2021). Depuis 2000, ayant le statut de bibliothèque de dépôt de la FAO en Moldova et de plateforme nationale AGRIS, elle a fait la promotion des ressources informationnelles de la FAO dans le pays.

La Bibliothèque est devenue en 2001 membre d’AGLINET, réseau créé dans le but de partager conjointement et rationnellement les ressources informationnelles entre ses membres, offrant sur demande des services de prêt interbibliothèques dans l’intérêt et pour l’avantage des usagers. Assumant les fonctions de Plateforme nationale AGRIS en République de Moldova depuis 2004, la Bibliothèque intègre les métadonnées des documents concernant l’agriculture publiés dans le pays. En qualité de fournisseurs de données à AGRIS, les institutions de la République évaluent et choisissent les publications, en indexent le contenu selon les concepts d’AGROVOC et les transmettent pour intégration dans la base de données d’AGRIS. La figure 1 montre la dynamique des publications scientifiques dans le pays de 2015 à 2020.

Scientific publications in Moldova

Figure 1. Publications scientifiques en République de Moldova. Source : Rapport annuel de l’Académie des sciences de Moldova, 2015 -2020

La mission essentielle de la Bibliothèque consiste à assurer un soutien informationnel et documentaire à l’éducation, à la recherche et à la production dans le domaine de l’agriculture, et à être un intermédiaire actif entre usagers et information. Ayant rejoint en 2007 la communauté internationale d’éditeurs d’AGROVOC, outil d’indexation servant à AGRIS, la Bibliothèque traduit et adapte AGROVOC en roumain. Un réseau de centaines de fournisseurs de données de quelque 150 pays contribue à AGRIS. Pour que l’indexation soit de bonne qualité, ce qui retentit directement sur la découverte d’informations agricoles, il faut un effort énergique du réseau. À cet égard, AGROVOC est une solution au problème de la compatibilité des ressources linguistiques des bases de données dans les pays participant à la base de données d’AGRIS, car le thésaurus contribue à l’indexation normalisée et uniforme des informations et des données par tous les fournisseurs de données d’AGRIS et en facilite l’interopérabilité et la réutilisation.

Trois institutions moldoves fournissent des données à AGRIS :

Pertinence d’AGRIS en République de Moldova

Une gestion agricole efficace, directement déterminée par une information de haut niveau, contribuera à faire reculer la pauvreté, à relever les niveaux de nutrition, à ajouter de la valeur aux produits en fonction de la demande des consommateurs, à améliorer la productivité agricole et à élever le niveau de vie. L’information scientifique est désormais une source vitale pour l’agriculture dans le monde, et un élément essentiel de l’éducation et de la recherche, ainsi que de la créativité et de l’innovation. 

Il est donc indispensable de bien gérer et diffuser l’information par des systèmes modernes d’information et de communication tels qu’AGRIS, qui ouvre des possibilités d’accès à l’information sans frais ni restrictions pour améliorer le transfert de connaissances à la communauté agricole mondiale. La République de Moldova s’est jointe à la communauté internationale d’AGRIS au début des années 2000, communiquant environ 5 000 fiches bibliographiques, dont plus de 1 000 comportent un lien vers le texte intégral. AGRIS offre aux institutions agricoles moldoves la possibilité de faire partie d’un réseau international avantageux et dynamique, et de contribuer à la promotion mondiale de la recherche scientifique moldove. Le pays bénéficie ainsi d’un service ouvert et gratuit, avec la possibilité de faire découvrir sans frais ses résultats scientifiques par l’intermédiaire d’AGRIS, qui offre aussi aux consommateurs d’information agricole de Moldova la possibilité de faire depuis un même point d’accès des recherches dans une multitude de ressources multilingues, dont certaines ne se trouvent dans aucune autre base de données internationale (littérature grise, manuscrits, données agricoles et autres). 

Dans la base de données d’AGRIS, les utilisateurs peuvent obtenir rapidement des informations pertinentes et exactes, du fait que l’indexation est basée sur le thésaurus AGROVOC. Quand on fait une recherche dans AGRIS, on se sert du thésaurus AGROVOC pour se guider et choisir des mots-clefs et des mots de remplacement pour exprimer un concept, ce qui permet d’élargir ou de rétrécir la recherche.

AGRIS, grâce à sa vaste collection de documents, est une ressource pour les doctorants qui ont besoin d’informations sur leur sujet de recherche.

AGRIS offre un moyen de promouvoir les résultats de recherches scientifiques moldoves

AGRIS est une plateforme efficace pour promouvoir les résultats scientifiques moldoves à l’échelle mondiale. AGRIS ouvre ainsi les sciences et la recherche agricoles de Moldova à un auditoire plus étendu, et contribue à faire découvrir plus facilement ses publications, donnant plus de visibilité dans le monde à la recherche du pays et augmentant la fréquence des citations d’auteurs moldoves. AGRIS suit le nouveau paradigme de science ouverte comme moyen de produire, diffuser, appliquer et transformer la recherche scientifique. Ouvrant l’accès à l’information, il encourage une plus grande transparence dans l’information et la responsabilité des auteurs, développant les possibilités de réutilisation et de partage des informations et des données agricoles. La recherche scientifique ne saurait se faire dans l’isolation internationale, et l’expansion de la collaboration internationale est donc un facteur positif pour les chercheurs moldoves. Le système AGRIS élargit pour eux la communication avec les spécialistes d’autres pays dans les mêmes domaines ou des domaines connexes, et améliore le transfert de connaissances scientifiques entre chercheurs.

L’information et les données présentent une très grande importance pour le développement de l’agriculture. AGRIS améliore l’accès aux connaissances scientifiques, de même que leur circulation et leur transfert, contribuant à une évaluation de l’agriculture, à la formulation de politiques agricoles et au développement de stratégies bien pensées pour le développement des secteurs agricoles et ruraux. Par ailleurs, les cultivateurs moldoves, quand ils ont accès à l’information et aux données, peuvent voir les problèmes que connaissent les cultivateurs d’autres pays et découvrir des solutions à leurs propres questions.

AGRIS, source d’information pour les services d’AGLINET

Tirant parti du Web sémantique et des données ouvertes liées (Linked Open Data), AGRIS donne des liens vers le texte intégral de publications récentes, mais sert aussi d’agrégateur pour de nombreuses publications qui n’ont pas d’identificateur Uniform Resource Identifier (URI). Les chercheurs trouvent dans AGRIS bon nombre de publications intéressantes et importantes qui ne sont pas disponibles sous Open Access. Dans ce cas, par le réseau AGLINET, les bibliothèques s’entraident pour acquérir des documents qui ne sont pas disponibles dans leur propre pays. Ainsi, AGRIS est une source d’information pour les services AGLINET, avec des données bibliographiques et des informations sur le pays et l’institution qui détient la publication recherchée. La SAUM collabore par le système AGLINET avec des partenaires internationaux de 38 pays situés sur tous les continents. Dans ses échanges avec les bibliothèques partenaires, elle a bénéficié de plus de 3 500 prêts de ses partenaires, et communiqué ces dernières années plus de 400 documents à des bibliothèques de 12 pays. Le réseau AGLINET n’est pas très actif à l’heure actuelle, mais les pays membres continuent, sur demande, à assurer sans frais et sans délai des services de prêt interbibliothèques aux autres bibliothèques du réseau.

Activités à venir

Pour mieux sensibiliser à l’utilisation d’AGRIS et rendre plus accessibles et plus visibles les informations et les données agricoles en République de Moldova, l’équipe de la RSAL prévoit de réaliser les activités suivantes :

  • accroître les capacités pour AGRIS et y sensibiliser dans la communauté agronomique du pays, afin de démontrer les avantages qu’il y a à être indexé dans AGRIS ;
  • rendre plus visibles et plus accessibles à l’échelle internationale les recherches scientifiques moldoves sur l’alimentation et l’agriculture ;
  • encourager les chercheurs et les institutions à utiliser AGRIS non seulement en tant que consommateurs, mais aussi comme fournisseurs de données à AGRIS ;
  • augmenter le nombre de fiches communiquées à AGRIS ;
  • diffuser et promouvoir l’information sur les publications et les manifestations d’AGRIS.

Bibliographie

BNS. 2021. Activitatea de cercetare-dezvoltare în anul 2020. In : Biroul Național de Statistică al Republicii Moldova [en ligne]. Chişinău. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://statistica.gov.md/newsview.php?l=en&id=6967&idc=168 [site en anglais]

FAOa. 2021. Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture [en ligne]. Rome. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.fao.org/home/fr

FAOb. 2021. Objectifs de développement durable. In : Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture [en ligne]. Rome. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/fr/

FAOc. 2021. AGRIS. In : Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture [en ligne]. Rome. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.fao.org/agris/fr

FAOd. 2021. AGROVOC. In : Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture [en ligne]. Rome. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.fao.org/agrovoc/fr

FAOe. 2021. AGRIS. In : Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture [en ligne]. Rome. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.fao.org/agris/fr/data-providers 

SAUM. 2021. Universitatea Agrară de Stat din Moldova – State Agrarian University of Moldova [en ligne]. Chişinău. [consulté le 16 juillet 2021]. https://www.uasm.md/en

AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova

In this short document, the work and experience of the AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova is described, along with an overview of food and agricultural science and the role of AGRIS in the country.

Food and agricultural science in the Republic of Moldova

The Ministry of Education, Culture and Research of the Republic of Moldova is responsible for setting the policy framework for research and innovation. The research and development infrastructure, which contributes to the development of scientific activity and innovation in agriculture, includes several institutions and centres of agricultural research and development in the country: the Life Sciences Department of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova; the State Agrarian University of Moldova; six specialized scientific research institutions; experimental agricultural stations; centres of excellence; science, technical-scientific and technological innovation parks; business incubators; and research centres and their scientific laboratories (BNS, 2021).

The Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova

The Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova (RSAL SAUM) was the first university library in the Republic of Moldova. It was established simultaneously with the university in 1933. Since its foundation, the library and the university have evolved together. The library has been periodically influenced by the changes occurring in the social, political, economic and informational environment, going through reorganizations and changes of spaces, accumulating an important collection of documents, regularly modernizing its activity and diversifying its services and products, actively integrating itself in the university community and exercising various functions based on obtained national and international qualifications (SAUM, 2021).

The library has a dual role in the national system of libraries, both as a university library and as a national information centre in the field of agricultural sciences. It is also the methodological centre for the libraries of research institutions and agricultural colleges in the country.

Throughout its evolution, the library has continuously focused on the user. The user, especially the university user, has always been the “main actor.” For the users, the library has created and developed scenarios to complete and update the collection; to adapt, expand and improve its services; and to create effective information products in order to meet the educational, didactic and research requirements of real and potential users.

AGRIS and the Republican Scientific Agricultural Library of the State Agrarian University of Moldova

The partnership with FAO has expanded the library’s areas of work. New international responsibilities were assigned to the library. It became the FAO Information and Documentation Centre in the Republic of Moldova, the AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova within the AGRIS network, a member of the International Network of Agricultural Libraries (AGLINET) and official editor of the AGROVOC multilingual thesaurus’ translation into Romanian (FAOd, 2021). Since 2000, due to its status as an FAO Depository Library in the Republic of Moldova and AGRIS Hub, the library has promoted FAO information resources in the country.

In 2001, the library became a member of AGLINET, established with the aim of sharing the information resources of the members jointly and systematically, as the latter provide, upon request, interlibrary loan services in the interest of and for the benefit of users. Fulfilling the functions of an AGRIS Hub in the Republic of Moldova since 2004, the library integrates the metadata of documents on agriculture published in the country. As AGRIS data providers, the institutions of the Republic of Moldova evaluate and select these publications, index their contents with AGROVOC concepts and transmit them for integration in the AGRIS database. Figure 1 shows the dynamics of scientific publications in the country between 2015 and 2020.

Scientific publications in Moldova

Figure 1. Scientific publications in the Republic of Moldova. Source: Annual reports of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova, 2015-2020

The main mission of the library is to provide informational and documentary support for the process of education, research and production in the field of agriculture, and to be an active intermediary between users and information. Having joined the international community of editors of AGROVOC, an indexing tool and multilingual thesaurus used by AGRIS, the library translates and adapts AGROVOC in Romanian. A network of hundreds of data providers from about 150 countries contributes to AGRIS. In order to accomplish a qualitative indexing process, which has a direct impact on the discovery of agricultural information, considerable work is needed from the network. In this regard, AGROVOC solves the problem of the linguistic resources compatibility of the databases in the participating countries with the AGRIS database, contributing to the standardized and unitary indexing of agricultural information and data by all AGRIS data providers, and facilitating their interoperability and reuse.

Three institutions from the Republic of Moldova participate in the provision of AGRIS data:

Relevance of AGRIS in the Republic of Moldova

Efficient agricultural management, directly determined by high-level information, will contribute to poverty reduction, the raising of nutrition levels, adding new values to products depending on consumer demand, the improvement of agricultural productivity and the raising of living standards. Scientific information has become a vital source for global agriculture and an essential component of the educational and research process, as well as an important element for creativity and innovation.

In this context, it is necessary to efficiently manage and disseminate information through modern information and communication systems such as AGRIS – a system that opens opportunities for access to information at no cost or restriction in order to improve the transfer of knowledge to the global agricultural community. The Republic of Moldova joined the international AGRIS community in the early 2000s, contributing about 5 000 bibliographic records, over 1 000 of which have links to the full document texts. AGRIS offers agricultural institutions from the Republic of Moldova the opportunity to be part of an advantageous and dynamic international network and to contribute to the promotion of Moldovan scientific research globally. Thus, the Republic of Moldova benefits from an open and free service, with the benefit of having its scientific results be discovered through AGRIS. AGRIS also offers consumers of agricultural information from the Republic of Moldova opportunities to search, from a single access point, a multitude of multilingual information resources, some of which are not in any international database (grey literature, manuscripts, agricultural data, etc.).

In the AGRIS database, users can obtain information quickly, with relevance and accuracy due to the fact that the information is indexed based on the AGROVOC thesaurus. When users search in AGRIS, they use the AGROVOC thesaurus to guide and inspire them to select keywords and alternate words to express a concept or expand or narrow their search.

AGRIS is a source for discovering relevant information for PhD students' research topics, and has a comprehensive collection of documents.

AGRIS - a way to promote the results of scientific research from the Republic of Moldova

AGRIS is an efficient platform for promoting the scientific results from the Republic of Moldova at the international level. Thus, AGRIS opens agricultural science and research from the Republic of Moldova to a wider audience and contributes to the easier discovery of publications, increasing the visibility of the country’s global research and the citation rate of Moldovan authors. AGRIS responds to the new paradigm of Open Science as a way of producing, disseminating, applying and transforming scientific research. By making information available, it promotes greater transparency of information and authors’ responsibility, increasing the possibilities for re-use and the sharing of agricultural information and data. As scientific research cannot be conducted in international isolation, the expansion of international collaboration benefits researchers from the Republic of Moldova. The AGRIS system extends the communication of Moldovan researchers with specialists from other countries in the same or connected fields, and improves the transfer of scientific knowledge between researchers.

Information and data are very important for the development of agriculture. AGRIS improves the circulation of, access to and transfer of scientific knowledge, contributing to the evaluation of agriculture, the formulation of agricultural policies, and the development of appropriate strategies for the development of the agricultural and rural sectors. At the same time, Moldovan farmers, having access to information and data, can know the challenges faced by farmers in other countries and identify answers to their specific questions.

AGRIS - an information source for AGLINET services

Taking advantage of the Semantic Web and Linked Open Data, AGRIS not only links researchers to the full text of recent publications, but also serves as an aggregator for the retrieval of many publications without a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI). Researchers find in AGRIS many interesting and important publications that are not available via Open Access. In this case, through the AGLINET Network, libraries assist each other in acquiring literature that is not available in their own country. Therefore, AGRIS is an information source for AGLINET services and provides bibliographic data and information about which country and institution holds that specific publication. SAUM has collaborated within the AGLINET system with international partners from 38 countries in all continents. In relations with partner libraries, SAUM has the role of beneficiary library and has obtained over 3 500 loans from partner libraries. As a supplier library, it has delivered in recent years over 400 documents in 12 countries. Currently, the AGLINET network is not very active, but member countries continue to provide, without charge and upon request, fast interlibrary loan services to other member libraries.

Next steps

In order to increase awareness on the use of AGRIS and enhance the accessibility and visibility of agricultural information and data in the Republic of Moldova, the team of RSAL plans to implement the following activities:

  • increase capacity and awareness of AGRIS in the Republic of Moldova’s agricultural community to demonstrate the benefits of being indexed in AGRIS;
  • enhance visibility and access of Moldovan scientific research on food and agriculture internationally;
  • encourage researchers and institutions to use AGRIS not only as information consumers, but also as AGRIS data providers;
  • increase the number of records submitted to AGRIS; and
  • disseminate and promote information about AGRIS publications and events.

References

BNS. 2021. Activitatea de cercetare-dezvoltare în anul 2020. In: Biroul Național de Statistică al Republicii Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021].https://statistica.gov.md/newsview.php?l=ro&idc=168&id=6967

FAO. 2021a. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. www.fao.org/ home/en

FAO. 2021b. Sustainable Development Goals. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/sustainable-development-goals/en/

FAO. 2021c AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/

FAO. 2021d. AGRIS. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agris/data-providers

FAO. 2021e. AGROVOC. In: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations [online]. Rome. [Cited 16 July 2021]. http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/

SAUM.2021. Universitatea Agrară de Stat din Moldova – State Agrarian University of Moldova [online]. Chişinău. [Cited 16 July 2021]. https://www.uasm.md/en