FAO Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia

Regional workshop on building resilience in agrifood systems for drought mitigation and emergency support

Chișinău (Moldova), Hybrid Event, 25/03/2024 - 26/03/2024

FAO is convening a regional workshop in Chisinau, Republic of Moldova from 25 to 27 March 2024 on climate-smart agriculture practices and policies as a way to increase resiliency in the face of current severe natural and human-made crises. 

The pressures of climate change, extreme weather events—particularly droughts— and conflicts, including the war in Ukraine, have jeopardized rural livelihoods, economies, and the productivity and long-term sustainability of the agriculture sector within the region. The threats to agriculture production have far-reaching implications for global food security. Recognizing the critical need for resilient and sustainable farming practices, FAO is assisting countries of the Europe and Central Asia region to implement climate-smart agriculture practices and policies. Climate-smart agriculture is an initiative is focused on sustainable natural resource management, climate change mitigation, and disaster risk reduction across agriculture, forestry, and fisheries. 

Workshop participants will have the opportunity to exchange knowledge, discuss FAO's emergency support initiatives, share experiences, explore capacity-strengthening opportunities and strategize collaborative solutions for the region. The workshop will also showcase findings and validate two reports: The production, marketing and trade of priority crops for selected countries in ECA region, and Climate-Smart Agriculture in the ECA Region: Scaling up sustainable practices for enhancing agrifood system resilience and adaptive capacity. The workshop will introduce the FAO agricultural drought monitoring system and early warning capabilities. 

Participants will include FAO experts, governmental representatives, national experts, and partners from the public and private sectors, and academics from 13 countries: Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Republic of Moldova, Tajikistan, Türkiye, Uzbekistan, and the United Kingdom.

Registration: day 1, day 2