Welcome to the multilingual database of Names of Countries and Territories (NOCS)

As of 1 May 2020, the Organization has 194 Member Nations, one Member Organization (European Union), and two Associate Members (Faroe Islands and Tokelau).

For detailed guidance on how to address designation or presentation of certain territories, please refer to Administrative Circular 2021/13 and the Annex thereto.

The designations employed and the presentation of information on this website do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or development status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. The term “country” as used therein also refers, as appropriate, to territories or areas.


Number of results: